Tulip Ballerina

For last Monday’s vase of flowers I used Tulip Ballerina, one of my favourite tulips when planted in the garden; delicately perfumed with the scent of honey they are an elegant Lily-flowered tulip.

Some of you were surprised when I said that the tulips would continue growing while in the vase so here’s a series of images that shows how they changed over the last seven days.

Tulip Ballerina

Tulip Ballerina 22nd February

Tulip Ballerina

Tulip Ballerina 22nd February

Tulip Ballerina 22nd February

Tulip Ballerina 22nd February

Tulip Ballerina 23rd February

Tulip Ballerina 23rd February

Tulip Ballerina 23rd February

Tulip Ballerina 23rd February

Tulip Ballerina 24th February

Tulip Ballerina 24th February

Tulip Ballerina 27th February

Tulip Ballerina 27th February

Tulip Ballerina 27th February

Tulip Ballerina 27th February with this week’s vase of Lake Tacoma

Tulip Ballerina 28th February

Tulip Ballerina 28th February

I find tulips beautiful in all stages of their development; some, like Ballerina, remain beautiful as they fade and the petals dry.  There may be one more day remaining to enjoy this vase before the petals fall.

Are you as in love with tulips as I am; what’s your favourite?

29 thoughts on “Tulip Ballerina

  1. Your ballerina tulips are beautiful and I like the way you’ve illustrated how they grow over time to the point of papery elegance in the last image. I keep mine for as along as possible before saying goodbye to them, too. I love the green/streaked Princess Irene … having read your posts feel inspired to pot some bulbs up this year.

    • I always had some tulips in pots in my garden in the UK to add splashes of colour (different each year). Also I found lifting and replanting a job too many so I tended to have other bulbs in the garden and on the allotment. Pre-chilling tulips isn’t necessary in the UK because their is usually cold enough weather from October onwards but I suppose it could even be worth it there to have some extra early flowers.

  2. Ballerina is so beautiful, and I love that perfume. Just now I have some purple tulips in a vase with purple alstromerias- they bend and stretch as the days pass, and look so graceful. The energy and life in your greenhouse is wonderful!

    • The greenhouse gives me huge amounts of pleasure Linda; the anticipation each morning as I check for what has germinated cannot be underestimated. Your Lychnis germinated so well; I have 40 in modules but half the 5th size seed try is still full to bursting and I only planted a fraction of the seeds you gave me. I will think of you every time I see them.

  3. Oh yes, I could definitely fall for these Christina. I think I had some Ballerina tulios years ago, but they have all disappeared now. They look lovely even when fading.

  4. Tulipa do so well for you Christina, you have the right conditions for them, unlike me who has the exact opposite! Even growing them in pots isn’t always successful, they quite often don’t appear the following year, I’ll stick to plants that like my wet soil!

    • It is always best to go with what is right for your soil; you’re lucky that you do have some different conditions within your garden. Think what would happen if I tried to grow your gorgeous Candelabra primulars!

  5. Wonderful! You may remember that ‘Ballerina’ is one of my absolute favorite tulips, certainly in the top 3. Lovely series of photos, I really had no idea about tulips growing after being cut.

Leave a Reply

