Garden bloggers’ foliage day – March

Welcome and my apologies for the late appearance of Garden Bloggers Foliage Day.  So much to do in so little time (as they say).

Many of my regular contributors have already posted about their foliage and I have to admit to being a little stuck this month.  Last month I shared some of the evergreen forms and during the month you’ve seen some of the newly emerging foliage of perennials and bulbs.  The scene hasn’t really changed.

Yesterday we had a seriously bad weather warning and late last evening thunder and lightning with strong winds which blew all night kept me awake.  There is a cyclone! It will continue until Easter with possible snow and hail – just what the spring garden needs.

So as it is too windy for any photographs today I will leave the stage for your foliage; thank you for joining GBFD, I’m looking forward to seeing some lovely bright spring foliage.

Looking across the drive border

Looking across the drive border

Not a new image but one that always gives me pleasure.

Have a wonderful spring, whatever that may bring.

47 thoughts on “Garden bloggers’ foliage day – March

  1. Oh Christina, you expect that sort of weather in the winter but annoyingly presents itself in early Spring. I hope there is not too much damage for you and your garden but can imagine the worry. Your drive border is always beautiful too.

    • I really don’t know how the tulips are standing up, they are much tougher than I often imagine. Weather here always seems to be extremes! I also read that spring will be unseasonably hot – I hope they are wrong.

    • The forecast had been good weather up until Easter Sunday but then suddenly that all changed! Thank you for your contribution Pauline, you always have some lovely foliage to share.

    • Thanks Susie; the wind is sure to bring some branches down along the lanes, I’ll be very careful when I go out. Thank you for your contribution to March’s GBFD and well done for beating me to post it!

  2. Hi Christina, wow, a cyclone in spring? That is certainly no fun! This year in San Diego also has been much more stormy and windy than the previous ones so far and my foliage shows. Especially the foliage of the roses is suffering. I believe that these stronger and more common storms are a consequence of the climate change and I am worried what we are in for the future. But there is nothing that one can do, so we just have to live through it.
    Oh, and before I forget, I love the look of your drive border, too. It just tells me that I should pay more attention to evergreens in my garden.
    Hope the storm doesn’t gear up even more for you.
    Warm regards,
    Christina

    • I’m positive that you are right that the increase to the number and intensity of storms is caused by climate change. I do think, though, that we can do something about it; by insisting our governments are more proactive in trying to decrease our commissions. The wind hasn’t stopped blowing all day, throwing around garden furniture as if it was made of matchsticks!

  3. Your border is very attractive, especially the rise and fall of some of the lower lying plants – is there lavender to the right of the photograph? I wish I could get lavender to stabilise in our garden in Egypt, we have a variety bought locally that grows for a while, very rarely flowers, and almost always dies in the summer heat. Winds, dust storms, temperature spikes and (occasionally) rain hit us hard in late March/April so I am also rather dreading the coming weeks.

    • Hi Sylvia, no, it’s not lavender, it is prostrate rosemary, it’s been flowering since October. A very tough plant for the climate here and I imagine it would do well in your climate too. Lavender also grows well but needs more pruning to keep from becoming woody. There are many different varieties of lavender, I’m sure some of them would cope with your conditions.

  4. I’m sorry to hear that your weather is so tumultuous, Christina. I hope it settles sooner than expected and that you have no more sleepless nights because of it.

  5. I’m sorry about your weather and hope it won’t be that bad in the end. Great planting combination and isn’t it great the way Melia is still such an eye catcher – can’t wait for the flowers. Such a strong grower. Happy spring, Christina 🙂

  6. Even with all our modern conveniences we are still such victims of the weather! Granted it’s sometimes more our moods which suffer but it’s still a reminder how much we are a part of the environment even if we like to feel above it all.
    I didn’t quite make it this month although I had good intentions. After a three day cold spell we are back to an unseasonably warm thermometer reading. I thoroughly enjoyed the sunshine and warmth considering it’s a month early but do worry about a late freeze… but that’s an every year thing!

  7. Sorry you were hit with this wild weather Christina – hope it hasn’t done too much damage in the garden. I think we are forecast some wind tonight, but today itself has been the sunniest and probably warmest day of the year so far. The rain we were meant to get yesterday was negligible – which is a shame as we could have done with some and I have been watering my special snowdrops and newer shrubs today to be on the safe side. My brief and belated foliage post is here:
    https://ramblinginthegarden.wordpress.com/2016/03/25/familiar-foliage/
    Thanks for hosting

      • I suspect it might be. After a damp Saturday Easter Day was lovely but then came an inch of rain last night which included some snow this morning! High winds forecast for this morning!

  8. Oh it sounds rather wild weather wise for you at the moment Christina. I suppose it’s a chance to get on with those indoor jobs though so that you can enjoy a mega gardening fest when it calms down. As Cathy said in her comment it’s been a glorious day here but heavy rain and wind are on the cards for the next few days.

  9. This time of year offers so much in the way of fresh foliage. It is a joy to see your view across the drive border. Our weather this time of year can be quite unsettled. I understand your concern with the weather; severe thunderstorms and even tornadoes are an unfortunate spring time occurrence in our area.

  10. Hola Christina para mí ese tiempo es lo normal y mi pobre jardín lo soporta. Es realmente hermosa la frontera que ve desde el coche. Cuidado con el mobiliario de jardín que puede causar daños a las plantas y a los cristales. Saludos de Margarita. margarita141.

  11. Pingback: Hedge On The Edge – rusty duck

Leave a Reply

