A short walk along the lane

As you have read my husband had a knee replacement three weeks; as part of his recovery programme he needs to walk a little further each day.  Yesterday I took the camera with me as the lane verges are now bursting into life.

20160330_4569

I'm not sure which of the white daisies this is, I need to bring back some of the foliage to identify

I’m not sure which of the white daisies this is, I need to bring back some of the foliage to identify

20160330_4572

Crown daisy

Crown daisy

Tordylium apulum

Tordylium apulum

the poppies are beginning, this was blowing in the wind so a little out of focus I'm afraid

the poppies are beginning, this was blowing in the wind so a little out of focus I’m afraid

Vicia sativa

Vicia sativa

Just look how many plants are growing in about a square foot of space!

Just look how many plants are growing in about a square foot of space!

20160330_4565

????????????????????????????????????

and again here, so many species sharing a tiny space; I try to plant closely in the garden but I don’t achieve this kind of density!

20160330_4560

Euphorbia cyparissias

Euphorbia cyparissias

Star of Bethlehem

Star of Bethlehem

The garden is also exploding with new foliage and flowers; to celebrate the month of April I intend posting every day to share my pleasure.

40 thoughts on “A short walk along the lane

  1. When we lasted visited Italy I was struck by how beautiful the wildflowers are, over here we have to travel to visit protected meadows like yours, how wonderful Christina, to have so much on your doorstep, it sounds as if your husband is making good progress too.

    • Yes, it was one of the first things we noticed when we moved here. In our area, but not everywhere by any means, the agriculture is still on quite a small scale with most of the produce being sold locally. The farmers use very little herbicide, I know we are very lucky; I don’t think that I’ve ever seen meadows full of flowers as they are here. Of course this only last until the drought sets in in June.

  2. So many wildflowers! I love the red poppies which seem to be so common in your part of the world. I hope your husband has a quick recovery, I’ve heard knee replacements take more getting used to than hip replacements.

    • The surgeon told us the physio was as important as the surgery itself; the hospital was great in that he had 4 hours of physio every day for 2 weeks plus some afternoons. He was walking in 2 days after the operation.

    • Each year I am surprised by the number of different species; many are yellow daisy family so difficult to identify without spending a lot of time with the wild flower books, but when I have time it is an enjoyable thing to do.

  3. Christina espero que su esposo se reponga del todo pronto. En cuanto a esas flores silvestres tenemos las mismas pero aquí aún no han salido. Tan solo unas pequeñas margaritas se han atrevido a florecer pero sólo cuando hay sol, cuando llueve, empeora el tiempo y de noche se cierran y por la mañana se abren. Ya han salido los narcisos amarillos,no todos han florecido aún, pero de lo tulipanes rojos sólo están las hojas. También han florecido lo jacintos morados.Es una maravilla verlos. Perdón por explayarme con mi jardín, aunque estemos a 5 grados Centígrados. Muchos saludos Margarita. margarita141.

    • Thanks for your good wishes Margarita; I like reading about your garden. You are at a much higher altitude than me so your spring flowers will come a little later than mine but I’m sure they will be lovely when they arrive.

      • Hola Christina muchas gracias por contestar me pongo muy contenta. Ya han florecido las anémonas de Caen (se han adelantado será porque llevan plantadas 5 años), la Scilla en blanco y en morado. Que su esposo se haya puesto mejor. Saludos de Margarita. margarita141.

  4. Yes, good for you both to be walking together and sharing such a range of different wild flowers – and close to home too. Interesting also to read about the sheep and the local cheese

    • Almost all the cheese produced locally is Pecorino (percora means sheep), like calves with cows the young animals are just a by product of the process of having ewes producing milk.

  5. Lovely to have the flowers to cheer your husband on. I’m determined to make progress with planting more densely, as championed by nature and people like Noel Kingsbury. If I can get rid of the couch grass…

Leave a Reply

