April 2nd 2016

More tulips are flowering but these daily posts aren’t just about individual plants and flowers, there’s plenty of eye candy for flower lovers out there; I want you to get to know the garden so that when you do see an individual plant you can place where it is in the garden in your minds eye.

Today let’s begin with the area and views around the ‘Terrace looking West’ which I showed you as I was changing it’s design and the views from the drive through the upper drive border.

From the front terrace looking South, the edge of the large island has Tulip Mount Tacoma and beyond that is the new bed which is the combined 'small island and circular rose bed. To the left is the edge of the planting of new evergreens with added bulbs for interest.

From the front terrace looking South, the edge of the large island has Tulip Mount Tacoma and beyond that is the new bed which is the combined ‘small island and circular rose bed. To the left is the edge of the planting of new evergreens with added bulbs for interest.

Standing in almost the same place but looking slight to the right, you can still see the white Tulip Mount Tacoma, now on the left, and the view out of the garden

Standing in almost the same place but looking slight to the right, you can still see the white Tulip Mount Tacoma, now on the left, and the view out of the garden

Standing at the top of the entrance drive, with the terrace (looking west) on your left, the upper drive border edge is in the foreground and the large island is beyond that

Standing at the top of the entrance drive, with the terrace (looking west) on your left, the upper drive border edge is in the foreground and the large island is beyond that

The cypress in the distance in the above 2 images is the same one.

Just out of view to your right in the above image, the crab apple has today shown its blossom

Just out of view to your right in the above image, the crab apple has today shown its blossom

If you turn 90° from your position in image number 3, you’d be looking along the back of the house towards the triangular rose bed.

The triangular rose bed with the Quince that began to show its new foliage 3 days ago and today has blossom

The triangular rose bed with the Quince that began to show its new foliage 3 days ago and today has blossom

Delicate pale pink quince blosson

Delicate pale pink quince blossom

I can’t not show you tulips, so here are some that have been in the ground many years; some bulbs are producing 2 or 3 stems, the planting around them has grown so they look naturalized which I like a lot.

 

Tulip 'Ballerina' and I think T. Abu Hussan with Euphorbia myrsenites

Tulip ‘Ballerina’ and I think T. Abu Hussan with Euphorbia myrsenites

Slightly different angle of the same tulips but with more of the old Spring walk visible in the background

Slightly different angle of the same tulips but with more of the old Spring walk visible in the background

No cold wind today so it was very pleasant to have lunch outside under the pergola.

 

 

39 thoughts on “April 2nd 2016

  1. Two magnificent views…I especially loved that the wisteria is at the edge of that first view…and oh the Ballerina tulips. Can’t wait to plant some again. Loving seeing the views daily from your garden Christina. April is cold and we are to get snow so my garden will slow now…but my big burst of flowers is usually in mid to late May and June.

  2. This area looks like a wonderful one to wander through and enjoy. I bet it looks a little different day-to-day as spring progresses. Of course, I LOVE the tulips!

  3. I love the shades of orange with the zing of the euphorbia, always a winning combination. Amazing transformation in the area in front of the terrace in such a short space of time. Do you feel it has unified the feel of the garden somehow? That’s the impression I have from the photos. I loved it before. But I think I love this more. You have a great eye for planting compositions.

  4. I’m just a little lost, there are several spots I recognize but overall it almost looks as if you snuck into a part of the garden we rarely see! But I see the threesome of cypress, the walnut and melia trees and of course recognize the tulips so I’m able to get my bearings. It’s amazing how well things have grown in over the years, I still have that image in my head from when you first arrived and the perovskia and boxwood were going into a bare lawn!
    Beautiful how it all flows together, and the spring foliage really lights the garden up!

      • Please don’t think of it that way! Your garden has so much dimension to it with a new view from every angle. Mine is just flat and all one forward view. There’s no chance of getting lost in my garden.

    • I would be very sad if I couldn’t grow tulips; but I’m sure there are many things you do grow that I can’t; that’s one reason blogging is so interesting.

    • There are some bees but at the moment the wisteria is attracting almost all the bees in the area. honey bees and lots of Carpenter bees; the sound is almost deafening.

  5. Christina me encanta la flor del membrillo y la del manzano cangrejo. La euphorbia de fondo para los tulipanes rojos es espectacular. Hoy me he perdido un poco en el paseo por el jardín, pero me da igual porque he disfrutado cada foto, cada explicación como si estuviera en un jardín encantado por la belleza. Saludos de Margarita. margarita141.

      • Muchas Gracias Christina. Su jardín es una belleza y aunque no logre entenderlo mejor , porque soy muy despistada, disfruto igual de él. Saludos de Margarita. margarita141.

  6. Of all our fruit trees, I think the apple blossoms are the prettiest. Now I’m thinking a quince would be nice. Do you use the fruit? All is looking marvelous and your surrounding countryside is such an asset.

    • Yes I make quince jelly sweet and also with chilli to eat with cheese or cold meat. This year I was given a jar of Quince cheese which was delicious so I’ll try to make that this year. I often eat the fruit cooked slowly in the oven or sometimes I make a sorbet that needs a bottle of red wine so you can imagine that it is delicious.

Leave a Reply

