April 6th 2016 – busy in the greenhouse

It seems that I find time to write my daily posts later in the day so that the date at the top of the post is actually the following day – more confusion I’m sorry.

I’ve been working in the greenhouse most of the day (5th April) potting on tomatoes into 9cm pots.  I’m hoping they will be ready to plant out by the end of the month.

I spend a lot of time (wasted) in moving things around in the greenhouse to try to give the optimum amount of light to all the seedlings and plants that are there.  I haven’t organised myself to buy a cold-frame so almost everything is still inside at least at night.  The last couple of days it’s been really hot and the temperature inside the greenhouse, even with the shade netting and the windows open, reached 30°C .

Come into the greenhouse it's lovely and warm inside

Come into the greenhouse it’s lovely and warm inside

The heater is still there as suddenly the forecast has changed again and we are promised some cold temperatures again at the beginning of next week.

I use multi coloured labels for my tomatoes, that way I only have to write one, and I know all the rest with that colour are the same.

All the space is used to capacity!

Some of the Chrysanthemums cuttings that need to be put into larger pots or planted out soon have been relegated to the floor.

I use multi coloured labels for my tomatoes, that way I only have to write one, and I know all the rest with that colour are the same.

I use multi coloured labels for my tomatoes, that way I only have to write one, and I know all the rest with that colour are the same.

Higher up are the sun lovers

Higher up are the sun lovers

One stand is in front of the lemon grass and over-wintered chillies

One stand is in front of the lemon grass and over-wintered chillies

Salad crops are now on the lowest levels as they don't like the sun

Salad crops are now on the lowest levels as they don’t like the sun

Realistically I can fill 3 of the possible 5 shelves of the units for the plants to receive enough light.

Realistically I can fill 3 of the possible 5 shelves of the units for the plants to receive enough light.

More tomatoes that need potting on, one of tomorrow's jobs

More tomatoes that need potting on, one of tomorrow’s jobs

Walking around the garden; the first thing I do each morning; I found these dwarf irises in the Large Island; either they weren’t flowering two days ago or I just missed them!

Iris Mini Dragon

Iris Mini Dragon

They are beginning to bulk up in a pleasing way but I don’t think I would buy more of these dwarf varieties, they don’t make enough impact and their flowering season is very brief.

Iris Mini Dragon

Iris Mini Dragon – actually much darker than it looks above

Native lupin

Native lupin in the upper drive border with the new bronze foliage of a miniature pomegranate behind.

The crab apple is gorgeous at the moment, I hope all the blooms will yield apples

The crab apple is gorgeous at the moment, I hope all the blooms will yield apples

Also in this border, which you saw from above yesterday:

Ceonothus repans

Ceonothus repans

Suddenly the thyme is flowering!

Suddenly the thyme is flowering!

 

30 thoughts on “April 6th 2016 – busy in the greenhouse

    • A greenhouse needs to be like the Tardis doesn’t it? There’s never enough room; but it would help if I had a couple of cold frames; one somewhere sunny and one in shade.

  1. The different colour labels is a good idea. And the Ceanothus is gorgeous – sadly not hardy enough for us here, although I do occasionally see them in sheltered gardens nearby.

    • Ceaonothus are sometimes difficult; they can be happy for years, then suddenly die, or whole branches die back; that happens to mine, so I just cut the dead branches off.

    • The tomatoes will be planted out at the end of April; I have planted as early as March but cold nights can retard growth so it is prudent to wait. Actually by then everything can be planted out so you’re correct – a lot of planting – help!

  2. You are so well organised in your greenhouse, with every available bit of space being used and everything so neat and tidy..I wouldn’ t like anyone to see into mine; I’ ve lots growing, but it’ s all a shameful mess.
    I love the little irsises, they don’ t bloom for long but they are so pretty.

  3. I adore that Iris! I also continue to be very jealous of your greenhouse (even if it was near 30C outside here this afternoon). I have the same experience your described in the garden at this time of year – you turn around and discover something that wasn’t there the day before. Today I found the peppermint geranium (Pelargonium tomentosum) all in bloom and I swear those flowers weren’t there yesterday.

    • I really think you would be better with a shade house rather than a green house. Even here the sun through the glass is very hot even with the shade netting up. From no leaves to now full leaf and covered with flowers the quince did this in just about three days! Incredible.

  4. I love seeing a greenhouse overflowing with spring transplants. I hope things warm up a little to ease the congestion though!
    You have sold me on needing to add a crabapple, the buds from previous days are just as nice as the fully opened blooms.

    • The past week has been very warm Frank, but colder weather is forecast so I don’t want to risk the plants becoming dormant because of the cold; lots of things would be better outside (at least during the day) if there was somewhere out of the blazing sun to put them. I really should invest (find) a structure to cover with shade netting.

  5. Thank you for sharing the innards of your greenhouse, Christina – and it is interesting to hear you say that although to us your greenhouse looks tidy in reality it isn’t! I feel the same about mine – trays and pots of seedlings or plants may look neat but I suppose it’s what we DON’T show in your photos… 😉 Lovely lush gowth on many things – and don’t you just love the smell of greenhouses at this time of year? Green and earthy – lovely! What temperature will you heat your greenhouse to when colder weather is forecast?

    • I only ever keep the greenhouse frost free, in reality the heater has hardly come on at all this winter, maybe for a white 7 nights in total, but without it I would lose plants and it could get very cold, you never know! It is unlikely to drop down to freezing now especially as it heats up so much during the day, it takes a while to cool down again. The max. min. thermometer has stopped working for the minimum part so I don’t know exactly how cold it’s getting. It is quite tidy, I haven’t hidden anything but whenever something is potted on I have to move lots around; we all do that don’t we? which is why I think I need to be more organised. I am hardening things off outside during the days now but to be safe I put them back inside at night. Lots more could be outside if there was somewhere shady to put them.

  6. Hola Christina muchas gracias por mostrarnos todos los rincones y plantas de su invernadero. Que colocado y limpio lo tiene y repleto de plantas preciosas y sanas. ¡Va a tener mucho trabajo para plantar todas! La envidio sanamente por tener tantas y tantas plantas. Yo este año por salud no he podido: tendré que comprarlas. Saludos de Margarita. margarita141.

  7. Always a delight to peek in your greenhouse….you plant out tomatoes about a month ahead of me. I just started mine from seed as they grow so fast, and get too leggy under my lights.

    I adore Iris Mini Dragon, and have several different colors of mini irises growing in my small front garden beds…I plan to divide them, but agree they need a small garden to make an impact.

    • I probably sow my tomatoes too early Donna, this year the shade netting has been on the greenhouse all winter, I should probably remove some of it to let more light onto the plants as they grow, but then it gets very hot!

  8. What a super setup! Ceonothus. I have heard so many good things about them. I’d love to add one but where? Where? (running out of space …)

    • Ceaonothus can be great but it can also seem to be growing really happily and then suddenly just die or almost worse, half dies. I think it probably really wants lots of heat but with some humidity.

  9. Color coding tags is such a good idea. We saw a lot of the lupine on our wildflower walk yesterday. Could that mean that we share some of the same natives?

    • Possibly but the one Kris (Late to the Garden party) showed yesterday was a very different plant. But I’m sure we share some similar plants as natives from before the continents drifted apart.

Leave a Reply

