April 10th 2016 The annual visit to the Peony Farm

Every year at about this time, we visit the peony farm.  The exquisite beauty that peonies have is very short lived which means that I don’t devote any space to them in the garden; but I immensely enjoy going to see them all flowering en-mass. All the images here are tree peonies including some of the wonderfully scented Rockii varieties.  The farm obviously sells peonies, either from the site or on-line; it also makes cosmetics and beauty products from various parts of the peonies.  While the peonies are flowering there is a restaurant which today, Sunday was already fully booked when we were there at about mid-day.

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan Some of the varieties available

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan

It was a gloriously sunny day with no wind, perfect to enjoy the peonies.

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan

Each variety is planted in rows or blocks.

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan  One of the Rockii

Trono di Corallo

Trono di Corallo

Trono di Corallo

Trono di Corallo

The above looked just like the peonies you see on Chinese fabrics.

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan

Centro Botanico Moutan

Let me know if you want more images!

36 thoughts on “April 10th 2016 The annual visit to the Peony Farm

  1. More images of peonies…always more. My sad little tree peony needs a new home so I will be moving it and hope it might like where I site it better. Regular peonies can last for weeks here if we don’t get loads of rain. I adore the look and smell of the old fashioned ones and have several.

  2. Christina todas las imágenes magníficas. Pero si hay más fotos mejor. Nos estamos aprovechando de su buena voluntad. Muchas gracias. Saludos de Margarita. margarita141.

  3. I love peonies! What a wonderful trip to the peony farm it must be.
    Indeed, their splendor is short-lived, however I could not be without them in my garden!

  4. What a gorgeous garden! I like the mix of peonies and trees – very Italian. They are beautiful flowers, remind me not just of Chinese fabrics, but porcelain too. If you load more images, can you give us the scent as well – ?!!

  5. Aren’t they lovely?! I put my peony stakes in three days ago and the next time I looked the plants had all had grown 6 inches and the early ones had got buds on!

  6. You’re right: my two tree peonies bloom for a very short time, but I am almost equally enamored of the foliage. My one herbaceous peony lasts quite a bit longer. It’s always great fun to see such beauties en masse.

  7. What a beautiful place to visit. Peonies don’t last long but they make up for it for me when they flower. Perhaps that’s what makes them special, you don’t get bored with them. Amelia

  8. Lovely Christina. What a treat it must be to visit and stand among those peonies. Mine have buds now but the show will be nothing like that. I just looked to see if I can find a peony farm to tour. Found one but not very close.

    • I think they are quite rare. Especially with so many varieties spread over a large area. When you come you should come at this time of year, it is always the most beautiful.

  9. My love for peonies started with a hot pink form from my great grandmother’s farm. Now I have six or seven. I had no idea there were so many types. Thanks for this lovely tour.

  10. It must be quite a surreal experience to visit the peony farm – I can see why it becomes an annual treat for you and perhaps you will book lunch in advance next year!

    • Indeed we might although on this occasion we met some people who were going bird watching after seeing the garden (they recognised my husband as a bird watcher by his ever present binoculars!) and we decided to do the same. This was interesting as we saw a flock of flamingos fly in and land and I saw a flash of colour that I think was a Golden Oriole.

Leave a Reply

