April 26th 2016 More Iris selections

Sunday wasn’t as windy as had been forecast but there was a lot of rain; welcome rain as it had rained much in the last few weeks even though it had been promised (threatened) for many days!  The skies cleared late in the afternoon and allowed our lunch guests to view the garden albeit wearing padded jackets!

Irises are still surprising me as they open; some I don’t remember where they were purchased and worse their names are a mystery.  Inefficiency on my part caused by some of them coming with no names originally or with a name that is obviously the sellers description rather than a registered name.  Add to that the fact that some remained in their pots until I found a suitable spot for them and in the intervening time the name is lost!  But enough excuses, if there is a name under the image then I am sure it is correct if not then “sorry”.

Dutch iris

Dutch iris in the Small island 

This group has been half flattened by the wind now

This group has been half flattened by the wind now

Iris 'Dear Jean'

Iris ‘Dear Jean’

Iris 'Dear Jean'

Iris ‘Dear Jean’

From the drive looking along the upper slope path which declares itself the Iris path at this time of year

From the drive looking along the upper slope path which declares itself the Iris path at this time of year

Iris 'Chelsea Blue

Iris ‘Chelsea Blue’ is slightly scented and looks like velvet.

This is the first time this has ever flowered and I would love to know its name; the only one I found on line that was similar is called Dude Ranch but I'm open to corrections

This is the first time this has ever flowered and I would love to know its name; the only one I found on line that was similar is called Dude Ranch but I’m open to corrections

Just to show there are other things flowering too, Rosa rimosa on the terrace pillar.

Rosa rimosa

Rosa rimosa

Many of my irises are forming good sized clumps for the first time this year and like everything else a clump is so much more satisfying than just one stem.  I may even be able to divide some or extend the range of the exisiting clumps.  Are you addicted to Bearded Irises? it is a new addiction for me, I didn’t even like them very much when I lived in England.

26 thoughts on “April 26th 2016 More Iris selections

  1. Irises always look even better with raindrops on them, but too much rain can spoil them. I have a few bearded iris but if I had the right sort of conditions for them I would probably have more!

    • Plants that are gifts from friends or swaps often don’t come with the correct names. I’m generally good with the major planting it is the odd plant that is purchased separately that causes the most problems. Sadly the Irises have suffered for both the above reasons!

  2. After a flat out week I am just catching up with your posts Christina, you have some beautiful Iris – is that your house in the distance along the Iris path, the path looks like a lovely place to meander along and enjoy your planting. We even had snow showers today, it seems we all have a return to cold weather, roll on a proper Spring day!

  3. Christina todos sus iris son preciosos. Yo soy una despreocupada con los nombres de las variedades que planto. Sé que tienen que salir iris germánica pero no sé la variedad. Me parece tan bello y magnífico el camino de iris que aparece tras unos arbustos, la ruta del talud superior: está sacado de un cuento de hadas. La rimosa Rosa es preciosa. Saludos de Margarita. margarita141site.

  4. Years ago I was lucky enough to get a couple of special irises when our local botanical gardens began renovating their beds. So I fell in love with bearded irises then. Two relocations later, I am starting over and, as I mentioned in an earlier comment, seeing yours is certainly rekindling my interest! Dutch irises have not bloomed well here though they grow satisfactorily, and my trial of I. r. “Harmony” has discouraged me from bothering with the reticulatas. Lack of a cold period, I suspect? But bearded irises should do better! Thanks for the stroll through your bountiful borders!

  5. Such a treat! I’ve become a bit addicted to bearded irises too. I bought a couple of collections two years ago – the price of the Cayeux irises was too high for me and I just wanted to get started after seeing the superb (and huge) Iris collection at Basel botanic gardens. However when I feel I can really treat myself I’ll buy from Cayeux. I’m wondering, however, if you think that bearded irises do better in richer border conditions? I’ve noticed that mine immediately grow away strongly when I plant them in a border, but in the so-called Iris Garden (where they start) conditions are more impoverished. But I’d imagine that many of yours are in hot, dry positions Christina. Thoughts?

    • Mine are in almost rock and don’t need any summer water, so ideal for me. I never feed them. The only job is to check they don’t get infected with wooly aphids, if they do I peel back the leaves to allow the wasps to reach them and make sure there are no ants defending the aphids. Some of mine did come from Cayeux. I would love to visit and see their fields in flower but perhaps better that I don’t as I would be too tempted.

  6. Beautiful especially Chelsea Blue.i love iris and at the garden where I work which is on chalk they do really well. They are easy to propagate and make a good early show. Your garden is full of lovelies already

Leave a Reply

