May 3rd 2016 A sunny Day

After the cloud filled skies of yesterday is has been beautifully sunny today but still with a cold wind from the north east.  I’ve been planting more into the vegetable beds but nothing tall or a bit weak that might be broken by the wind.

I planted out the sweetcorn, various types of basil and the bamboo canes are in the ground ready to plant out sweet peppers and aubergines.  Yesterday I planted out some Chinese cabbage and other salad, and all the Zinnias.

As my readers will probably remember I love white flowers; I have three different white bearded irises.

White Iris near Crab apple

White Iris near Crab apple

White Iris near Crab apple

White Iris near Crab apple

This is the first time this one has flowered, it has egg yellow markings at the throat with purple veining.

Iris germanica 'Immortality'

Iris germanica ‘Immortality’

Iris germanica 'Immortality'

Iris germanica ‘Immortality’

Iris germanica ‘Immortality’ is pure white and sometimes flowers again in autumn.

My favourite of all this has the most amazing perfume, I wish I could bottle it!

My favourite of all this has the most amazing perfume, I wish I could bottle it!

My favourite of all this has the most amazing perfume

My favourite of all this has the most amazing perfume

Iris germanica 'Hoist the Sails'

Iris germanica ‘Hoist the Sails’

‘Hoist the Sails’ is often one of the last irises to flower and this year is no exception, this is the first bloom to open.

????????????????????????????????????

Buddleia alternifolia

No one guessed what the mystery stem was in my vase yesterday; here it is growing in the garden, Buddleia alternifolia

Large Island looking towards the drive

Large Island looking across to the Upper Slope Path

Melia Azedarach is just coming into flower.  The sun was already too bright for good images at 9.30 this morning.

 

31 thoughts on “May 3rd 2016 A sunny Day

    • The sunshine is lovely, I know I’m spoilt because it is almost always sunny here, even when its cold but yesterday with no sun at all was horrible.

    • Nice to think of you growing the same plants Arthur. Although we are very close to the Mediterranean our climate actually isn’t, much colder in winter than true Mediterranean is.

  1. Christina garden bigger and with few tempting things to eat …. and pretty, because cast plant beautiful flowers. The desire for good weather and above all not much lower temperatures at night. As for the white iris, I’ll take the iris that has perfume and a little yellow: his favorite. It is very nice, beautiful. Greetings from Margarita.

    • No the perfumed iris has some yellow veining at the throat; sorry, I don’t have its name. I wish I did, I bought it from a supplier that just called it white perfumed! correct description but not very helpful.

  2. Oh, it’s just beautiful in every direction. Your white irises are exceptional. Like Julie, I’m curious about the name of the third white iris. My favorite too. Hoist the Sails is a curious mouthful to name an iris but it is lovely and doesn’t seem to mind. We’re getting deluges here just as the irises and peonies have come into bloom.

    • Rain and peonies just seem to go together don’t they? This year the weather was perfect when they were in flower but it often rains here too; it’s such a shame as their season is so short anyway. Sorry, I don’t have the name of the perfumed Iris. I wish I did. I bought it from a supplier that just called it white perfumed! correct description but not very helpful.

  3. I love the view of the large island. Your irises, and especially Immortality are quite beautiful. We are experiencing some cooler air this week, after a taste of hot humid summer last week. I want to hold on to these spring days as long as possible!

  4. More gorgeous irises 🙂 Does Buddleia alternifolia handle drought well? I find various Buddleias being sold here, but I never feel confident in knowing which ones are likely to survive long term!

    • My buddleia is in the bed that receives no irrigation and survived the drought last year with no problems. All buddleias are very tough growing on waste ground and out of walls, so I think many could be suitable for you.

  5. Gorgeous white irises. My favourite is Immortality – the photo looking down is stunning.
    I am annoyed I didn’t get that twig – I planted that shrub for my mother in the corner of her very small garden and it was magnificent. It did rather take over the pavement outside her house though. I hadn’t seen it before, or since and this was some time ago now, so that is my excuse! It is a lovely shrub to have if you have space for it to arch beautifully.

  6. That must be some wind….still cool here and wet again, but the garden is blooming along slowly. I adore white flowers too and especially irises!

    • Yes, I agree and I’m always surprised as I don’t really think of bearded irises being perfumed. This white one has a perfume you want to bottle and use – strong yet delicate slightly spicy, I wish I could share the scent with you.

  7. Lovely iris’s Christina – I have just read Pauline’s comment about the scent and have to admit I have never really noticed it – I will be on the look out this year. I always look forward to the bearded iris’s blooming but they always coincide with heavy rain and storms that ruin them – a bit like the peonies!

Leave a Reply

