May 5th 2016 – Evening light

Today has been sunny and warm, still with a wind but not as cold as the last couple of weeks.  Two days ago I was wearing 2 fleeces today I was comfortable in a short sleeved T-shirt.

As it MUST be getting warmer I planted out most of the sweet peppers and a few of the aubergines; the rest will have to wait for the peas and broad beans to finish (they’ve only just begun) as I need their space.  I’ll pot the remainder into slighter larger pots and find a place for them outside so that their stems can strengthen before I plant them.

A couple of the tomatoes were damaged by the wind while we were away but I have some replacements I can use to fill in.  Tomorrow I intend sowing direct some Yard Long Beans and I might try to squeeze a short row of dwarf beans in between the zucchini and squash.

Sweetcorn I planted out at the beginning of the week seem to be growing taller already

Sweetcorn I planted out at the beginning of the week seem to be growing taller already

The late afternoon light is very bright at the moment making many of the flowers appear luminous.

Below R. ‘Clair Matin’ on the pillars of the west facing side of the terrace.

20160504_5491 blog

The Slope is filling out with shrubs which will make its management easier in future years

The Slope is filling out with shrubs which will make its management easier in future years

Above bright sun and deep shadows make for a Chiaro/Scuro effect.

Luminous in the late afternoon sunshine Eschscholzia californica and a black iris strategically bending down to be amongst them

Luminous in the late afternoon sunshine Eschscholzia californica and a black iris strategically bending down to be amongst them

Eschscholzia californica filling all available spaces on the slope

Eschscholzia californica filling all available spaces on the slope

Other roses are flowering around the garden.

Rosa 'Molineux'

Rosa ‘Molineux’

Rosa 'Queen of Sweden'

Rosa ‘Queen of Sweden’

Rosa 'Tradescant'

Rosa ‘Tradescant’

Trachelospernum jasminoides hedge around the gas tank

Trachelospernum jasminoides hedge around the gas tank

First flowers are opening on the Trachelospernum jasminoides

First flowers are opening on the Trachelospernum jasminoides

soon the perfume will be so strong it will fill the whole garden.

Iris germanica 'Before the Storm'

Iris germanica ‘Before the Storm’

This almost black bearded Iris is always one of the later ones to flower, it is one of my favourites, but as you will have noticed many of the irises are my favourites!

It is only the 5th of May but it really feels that there isn’t very much left to flower in my garden.  what’s just beginning to flower in yours?

 

27 thoughts on “May 5th 2016 – Evening light

  1. Lovely how the sun can change the flowers to make them shine! I was chuckling as I read about your veg garden as I have many of the same thoughts…trying to squeeze things in and waiting for room. Currently my basement is the holding area as many plants get bigger. At the end of May I hope to be planting out the warm veggies and the beans. So much anticipation in the veg garden!

  2. The evening light really shows off your garden nicely. Our clematis is about to flower, which is always a treat. It’s a monster Montana that twines all the over our hedge and up a tree.

  3. I think gardening is about the magical effects weather creates, especially light and you’ve captured some special moments in your garden beautifully. Is that a clump of orange poppies being picked out in the foreground of the slope? I like the painterly allusion.

  4. I really like the color of your Rosa ‘Tradescant’. Each iris is my favorite! Your black one is especially nice and with the Eschscholzia californica it makes quite a statement.

    • I think the black iris is similar to yours; in bright sunlight it is deep, dark purple but in softer light it’s black. Rosa ‘Tradescant’ is an English rose and has a wonderful perfume.

  5. Remember I raised and planted out some Californian poppies last year having admired yours for so long? Some appear to have reseeded, there are plants growing in the bank this year too. I’m amazed, given how wet it’s been over winter. I’ve sown a new batch this year too, to bulk them out.

  6. The evening light you have captured Christina is the light we are all so wistful for, its just beautiful as is your garden. Even here it was warm enough to take a fleece off and by Sunday it will be 25 degrees!

  7. Gorgeous planting especially the roses and your iris collection. My roses are what I’m looking forward to most especially the Rosa lutea over the arbour which is about to open hundreds of small flowers.

  8. Your garden still looks very floriferous to me, Christina! Although we got a little light rain this morning (our first in a month and, in all probability, the last we’ll see until fall), we’re clearly headed into summer. The Agapanthus have produced flower stalks throughout the garden and the first buds are just about to open. And around our neighborhood and beyond, the Jacaranda trees are already in full bloom.

  9. I will have to wait a bit before my Trachelospermum starts flowering, yours must be wonderful now that it’s in flower! Lovely to see all your little Californian poppies, they really glow in the evening light.

  10. Hello Chistina your garden is tale. Even the garden is beautiful: sweet corn looks like a flower and tomatoes, beans and everything planted today are organized and care as flowers, has a special hand for all plants. La Rosa “Claire Matin” is wonderful. The Trachelospernum jasminoides is beautiful and the flowers have a unique perfume. Greetings from Margarita.

  11. Your slope is filling out and the whole garden full of flowers. A wonderful time of year. The first of our poppies are opening and the roses beautiful in their first flush. Amelia

Leave a Reply

