May 12th 2016 Still mixed weather

Today started overcast but warm, later the sun appeared but by lunch time a light wind was blowing again.  This is not the weather I expect in May but I fear it is actually quite often like this and I just forget!

This morning I planted out tomatillo  and the last of the tomato plants that had been left in their pots in the greenhouse.  Tomatoes planted out on 20th April now have strong stems and need tying in again and side shoots have grown and need to be removed.

White Lychnis (sown 14th January) and Echinops ritro (sown 4th February) were planted out into the Large Island.  I noticed that there were also similar sized self seeders of the Echinops so I hope that next year there will be a large patch of blue flowers later in summer.

I also removed a large amount of Euphorbia rigida from the gravel and put them in pots; these usually grow well and some will find their way onto the slope in autumn, plus there will be some for friends.

The Left Hand Border: Rosa Sally Holmes and Madonna lilies just beginning to open their buds

The Left Hand Border: Rosa Sally Holmes and Madonna lilies just beginning to open their buds

Trachelospernum jasminoides flowering where it receives more sun.

Trachelospernum jasminoides flowering where it receives more sun.

In the foreground I am now leaving the asparagus to grow and hopefully strengthen the crowns; to the left Courgettes and pumpkins.  The rain and warm days is encouraging everything to grow very quickly.

Iris 'Rustic Jewel' in the Large Island

Iris ‘Rustic Jewel’ in the Large Island

Gladioli nana 'The Bride'

Gladioli nana ‘The Bride’ with Iris ‘Rustic Jewel’ behind

Alliums reappearing in the evergreen borders, these were planted years ago when the formal beds were first planted

Alliums reappearing in the evergreen borders, these were planted years ago when the formal beds were first planted

Allium christophii are returning in the Large Island

Allium christophii are returning in the Large Island

Sorry, yet another Iris without a name

Sorry, yet another Iris without a name

This Iris is planted close to the Scented white irises I showed you last week, they are finished now but this opened a couple of days ago, it has a different coloured throat and the petals are more frilled but this is also scented

This Iris is planted close to the Scented white irises I showed you last week, they are finished now but this opened a couple of days ago, it has a different coloured throat and the petals are more frilled but this is also scented.

Please let me know if you recognise any of my irises without names. Thank you.  What’s your favourite plant this week?

 

 

18 thoughts on “May 12th 2016 Still mixed weather

  1. Your irises are still gorgeous Christina–a very good year for them. The stand of Gladioli nana ‘The Bride’ looks great in front of the darker coppery ‘Rustic Jewel.’ Peonies, irises and roses have magically transformed my garden for the past week.

    • I have several patches of the Gladioli so I won’t mind picking some for a vase. Most of the Irises are finishing now, just the later ones are still flowering, like you I feel the garden has been magical the last few weeks.

  2. Your garden always looks so beautiful, Christina, and, as its so ahead of ours in the UK, visiting it via your blog is like a glorious window shopping spree. Your irises are divine. This week yellow tree peonies and pink cercis are in full bloom along the wall at the back of the house.

    • For you, visiting my garden is a step forward in time and for me, visiting yours, is like reliving a season. My Cercis finished flowering a while ago so I love seeing it again in other gardens. The worst thing for me is to know that very little will flower in the garden in summer so that I can ONLY enjoy other gardens. I think that is one reason that I love growing flowers to cut. I irrigate these so can have some colour in the cut flower beds and better still, when it is often too hot to be outside comfortably, flowers in the house.

  3. Christina your garden is wonderful. All in bloom. Nana gladiolus “The Bride” are beautiful. Irises follow all magnificent. Thank you very much take a walk through your garden. Greetings from Margarita.

  4. To me it looks like you are having a very lush and colorful spring. I love your gladioli. I’m holding off on planting my tomatoes because the nights are supposed to get cold for another week or so.

  5. Cold and wet today and a freeze warning for tonight again….right now I love any new flower showing up in the topsy turvy weather, especially the dwarf bearded iris.

  6. Gorgeous, as always! I do love the view of your large island with ‘Rustic Jewel.’ Your whole garden is a jewel! Our weather is cooler and less humid than normal, which is a great blessing to me. I want summer to hold off as long as possible!

    • I’m happy for summer to wait a little longer but here it feels more like late winter than spring; but at least the flowers are lasting a little longer.

  7. That large Island bed is looking beautiful Christina, I love that ‘Rustic Jewel’, and the way it echoes the purple foliage. The weather here has gone cool again, but the tulips have been wonderful this year. How closely do you find you can plant around your irises without them suffering from the tubers being too shaded? I want to plant some in my front garden, but can’t really give them an area to themselves, and anyway, I prefer to plant things in combinations.

    • I can plant quite close to the irises but if the tubers are actually covered as has happened with some thymes growing over them, they don’t like it at all and don’t produce flowers. I’m going to have to more some this year.

Leave a Reply

