May 19th 2016 The Slope on Thursday

For a couple of years I posted about the slope every Thursday enjoying seeing the changes week by week, month by month; for this Thursday 19 th May I thought it might be good to look at it again.

The images were taken last Saturday, a day when there was bright sun and stormy skies all on the same day.  Today began with rain, then there was some warm sunshine which after I had put washing out to dry turned back to a black sky and rain!! Tomorrow we are promised a better day.

Looking up the slope from the entrance gate

Looking up the slope from the entrance gate

Stipa tenuissima wafts in the breeze

Stipa tenuissima wafts in the breeze

I took cuttings from this plant last year and the new plants are already almost the same size as their parent

I took cuttings from this plant last year and the new plants are already almost the same size as their parent

I am going to cut the flowers from the Phlomis as soon as it finshed flowering as it shheds itself just a little too generously.

I am going to cut the flowers from the Phlomis as soon as it finshed flowering as it shheds itself just a little too generously.

The tree in the centre is a persimmon

The tree in the centre is a persimmon

Phlomis, Cistus and Eschscholzia are the main flowering plants at present

Phlomis, Cistus and Eschscholzia are the main flowering plants at present

I forgot to mention on Monday night there was a tremendous amount of rain here; but about 25 miles away at a slightly higher altitude there was SNOW, snow in May, in Italy!

35 thoughts on “May 19th 2016 The Slope on Thursday

  1. What can I say, Christina? An amazing garden you have created there! And nice to see ‘The Slope on Thursday’ again. I missed it and wondered if I was out of the loop. Very heavy rain and thunder here last night (Wednesday). First wet, cold spring in our 4 1/2 years at Chatillon,

  2. Just beautiful, Christina. What a great example of how to use stipa in a mixed planting. Phlomis doesn’t self seed in my garden, more’s the pity, but the shrubby forms propagate very easily from cuttings. I love the seed heads as much as the flowers, but I can see your dilemma.

    • There are literally hundreds of Phlomis seedlings, I have used some but they send down a strong tap root very quickly so if I don’t transplant them quickly or put them in a pot they die when moved.

    • Thanks Cathy, I used your idea from “Tuesday at 2” when I started doing the slope posts, perhaps we should both start again. It is a great way of showing all the changes that happen during a year. If you wanted to start it as a meme I’d join in and I think maybe others would too.

      • It would certainly get me back to blogging more often… I seem to have posted little more than my Monday vases for months now! I will think it over and let you know.

        • I’m posting a lot at the moment but by next month I know it will be less and a single view doesn’t take long but would keep me thinking about posting so I do hope you decide yes.

  3. Hi Christina its outstanding looks wonderful and mature. Plants used are very nice. I like a lot of cuttings which says that took her past year and new plants are as high as manage your parents. Silver gray foliage contrasts in a fantastic way with white flowers: it’s beautiful. I love Phomis, Cistus and Eschscholzia with their beautiful colors that complement each other. Greetings from Margarita.

  4. Such a beautiful slope. The mix of the grasses and the blooming perennials are perfection! the second photo, especially, really captures the beauty you’ve created. Well done!

  5. The weather is truly weird everywhere it seems. We’re still getting “May gray” skies but, instead of clearing mid-day as they’ve done in the past, they’re persisting throughout the day. No rain, though.

    Your slope had lots of green, as well as color. I love how everything is mingling so nicely. I hope my plants will mingle as well someday.

    • I certainly can’t complain about the lack of rain this spring and from experience the spring rains make a big difference to how the garden survives the summer. It is the cold that I am disliking, I’m still putting on a cashmere sweater to go out with a jacket, that really is unusual in May. Many of my Italian friends have already done their ‘change of season’ in their wardrobes – they are looking very cold!

  6. Lovely to see your slope again. Beautiful, as ever. I’m hoping to encourage my stipa tenuissima to behave more like yours by giving it a severe trim. I am also waiting for the phlomis I grew from seed to flower for the first time. Yours looks a lovely soft yellow, there are several in the village that are a much stronger, more saturated yellow, which really wouldn’t work for me, so fingers crossed!

    • My Phlomis is quite a strong yellow, I think it might be the strong light in my images that make it look soft. The Phlomis will grow very quickly from seed as I mentioned the other day it is almost invasive here.

  7. Oh my snow….we had snow around us in high elevations last week….crazy weather. I really enjoyed seeing the slope again…what beautiful views of the blooming spring flowers.

  8. Interesting to see details of the slope again, especially after the posts earlier which showed it in context with the rest of the garden. The cistus is a gorgeous colour! We tend to learn by experience which self sown seedlings to yank out ASAP don’t we? The yellow Welsh poppies are the first to go here.

    • Yes, you’re right Cathy, I don’t mind Stipa and lots of other things seeding around but anything that has a root that will continue to grow even when the rest of the plant has been removed, e.g. the Acanthus, need to be removed straight away.

Leave a Reply

