In a Vase on Monday – Abundance

Think how much pleasure you gain from a vase of flowers in the house; think how much more pleasure there is when you have grown the flowers from seed and grown them in your own garden.  This is what Cathy at Rambling in the Garden asks us to do each week and I want to repeat that she is a star!  Creating vases even if she is far from home, plonking a few things in a vase to encourage every one to join in – you don’t need to be an expert flower arranger to gain pleasure from your flowers, anyway I feel it can’t be said too many times, THANK YOU CATHY.

I actually began my cut flower bed before the meme started but how the idea has grown.  Would I really have picked flowers each week?  even if there were masses of flowers, other constraints on my time would I’m sure have led to weeks without flowers, instead there is now not a day when there isn’t a vase somewhere even if it is a single stem in a small vase in the kitchen.

The first vase was actually put together on Thursday ready for a small supper party on Friday evening; it is now in the kitchen, minus the lilies looking fresh,  I smile every time I glance at it.

Dahlia

Dahlia

Scented tall dianthus

Scented tall dianthus and Ami major

Hydrangea Annabel and white Dahlia

Hydrangea Annabel and white Dahlia and Giant white Antirrhinum

White Larkspur

White Larkspur

I’m considering sowing some more of these, I think they are gorgeous and I didn’t get great germination from my earlier sowings.

Zinnia Polar Bear

Zinnia Polar Bear

This is only the second year I’ve grown Zinnias and I am completely bowled over by them especially this one with perfectly pure white petals with slightly green centre.

I really love the white and lime green of this vase, it is one of my favourites from all I have put together in the last couple of years

I really love the white and lime green of this vase, it is one of my favourites from all I have put together in the last couple of years

And now, as they say, for something completely different!

If you saw my post about the cut flower garden last Tuesday, you’ll know the the sunflowers had put on a huge spurt of growth and today the first two flowers are open – I had to use them in my vase today.  Also flowering are the first Gladioli of the year; these were planted last year and I don’t think I even saw them in flower as we were away for much of June and some started and finished in our absence.  this presented me with two heavy stemmed types of flowers which I usually find easiest to have in vases of their own, but I wanted to attempt something a bit different so I picked masses more flowers in the yellow and crimson/purple range and just slowly began adding them to the vase – I wasn’t sure when I should stop so took some images at stages so I could compare the final result.

Stage 1 with Teucrium hyrcanicum, Gladioli, sunflowers and Cleome spinosa Violet Queen

Stage 1 with Teucrium hyrcanicum, Gladioli, sunflowers and Cleome spinosa Violet Queen

Gladioli

Gladioli

Sunflower

Sunflower

Rudbeckia from the plant that survived winter and a move to a different bed without taking a break from flowering

Rudbeckia from the plant that survived winter and a move to a different bed without taking a break from flowering

Then I added some Zinnia

Then I added some Zinnia

Then I added Deep coloured Cosmos

Then I added Deep coloured Cosmos

Obviously I couldn’t lift this to carry it outside so I had to use flash for the photographs but that probably doesn’t detract too much from the rich colours in today’s vase.

A few orange and yellow Cosmos I also picked where put in a separate small vase as I decided that I add reached the moment when it was time to stop adding anything else.

Do visit Cathy to see what she has found for her vase and props today or why not join us addicts and become a regular contributor.

Have a lovely week.

 

50 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – Abundance

  1. I love both those themes but especially the cream collection. I’m now prompted to rescue the amni sown from seed 4 weeks ago on the allotment. There’s a row of it so I shall thin it by lifting some of the seedling plants to put in 9 cm pots here at home to get a good root system going. Its a great meme and although I don’t take part I do pick a vase or two every week of the year for the house.

    • It is a shame you don’t join the meme, but I see and enjoy your vases each week. I think the Ami Visnaga has grown better than the major, but I may even be wrong and it is something else intirely, I’ll have to wait for the flowers to see for sure!

  2. I love that larkspur and the white Zinnia and the Ammi. I will need to look for seeds. I have only just finished planting the gazillions of tulips I bought as a result of seeing all your tulips last year 🙂
    The Crimson purple and yellow is a challenging and dynamic colour combo – I like how you have used the diagonal movement of the teucrium and the gladioli spikes – the whole thing seems to be bursting with energy.

    • Thank you Cath, it was challenging to do as I usually have huge problems with flowers with such heavy stems (Gladioli and Sunflowers). I look forward to seeing all your tulips when they flower although that will, of course, mean that it is autumn here!

  3. These are both outstanding Christina! The colors in the second one are strong and rich and all the flowers work great together. Don’t think I’ve ever see that red color of Cleome. Your white vase is so especially gorgeous. The white flowers all look so fresh and pure. Zinnia Polar Bear is new to me–amazing.

    • Of all the new flowers this year it is Zinnia ‘Polar Bear’ that I love more than anything else; but there is still a lot to come – lots of different orange and purple Dahlias – I can hardly wait! Thanks for your encouragement, I get so much pleasure from my vases each week.

  4. Abundance is a perfect for describing this post, I’m surprised to see so many summer flowers filling your vases already. Both are great. I’m always impressed with completely white arrangements, it really brings out the subtle differences between the creams, and lime tints which white flowers often have.
    I’m planning to bring the dahlia tubers out this afternoon. I’m always so far behind in my plantings!

    • Have your Dahlias been left dry or did you pot them up a month or so ago to encourage them into growth? I know that I’m very lucky to be able to leave them in the ground, all the white Dahlias in the vases today were planted in Spring 2015, they have flowered even earlier this year.

  5. Ah – larkspur – yes. So glad you showed that today – I have it in my bouquet as I found two skinny stems of it hidden under the deadnettles, which promptly stung me as I tried to extricate the larkspur. That is annual Delphinium, isn’t it?
    I never sowed it though, but that is the upside of a matrix garden : you always come across something new and unexpected.
    Your final oeuvre is so summery.

  6. So lovely, both of them! The white flowers are all very pretty and dainty looking. I really love the Larkspur and the white Zinnias. Hard to believe it’s a zinnia really, as I always think of them as rather brash! The sunflowers vase is also wonderful – with a pure fresh summer feeling. 🙂

  7. I love the white vase and especially the Scented tall dianthus. But oh that summery vase with sunflowers, zinnia and glads….all flowers I am waiting for but our cold weather is holding my cutting garden back.

  8. Christina, you say such nice things! I do feel I am purely the facilitator and you are all making your individual efforts to pick and plonk; the encouragement is two way and we all benefit! But OK, I admit I am diligent about posting and about responding to comments and viewing all the other vases but that’s because I know how empowering the meme has been and that is such a positive incentive – I feel privileged to be the host…
    I love both your abundant vases but I know you will be particularly thrilled with the white one. Seeing your white larkspur that is something that I will definitely look out for next year – as long as my blue ones do well, which it looks as if they will do. The white zinnias look so effective too. When I trialled the two Ammis for Which? a few years ago I found A visnaga was much more versatile and had a much longer life, so I just stick to that now. The contrasting colours of your second vase work so well – I look forward to having such colours later on. Do give us some hints on growing cleome as I have had no success…

    • I’ve tried lots of times with Cleome in the past without any success so I’m afraid it might just be luck or fresh seed. The only other time I’ve managed to grow them was years and years ago (15 years or maybe more) was when I stole some seed from plants that had seeded in a NT garden. I wouldn’t even do that now but obviously the seed was fresh then and I really believe that freshness matters much more than we realise for a lot of seeds; not everything of course but many times we are buying non viable seed!

        • It can’t be difficult if I found seed! It was a long time ago so I don’t remember exactly when I visited the garden but I think probably September. I will leave one plant to produce seeds here after the first few flowers are cut and let you know. I’m certainly going to collect seed from the Cosmos this year, it ripens very quickly so should be easy to collect.

        • You made me wonder whether I would nip off a seedhead in someone else’s garden these days – I have to admit to removing the occasional dandelion head which probably isn’t very different although dandelion seeds are probably less welcome in the garden! Hmm, I would try and find a gardener and ask, I think… I tried collecting cosmos seeds last year but I think there might have been a wet spell and they didn’t seem to be ripening – I shall certainly try again. I wonder if the cleome could be autumn sown?

  9. There is such grace to your white/green arrangement, it is lovely, Christina. The boldness of the second vase is a nice contrast to that. It’s like the difference between baroque and rock and roll. 😉

    • Thank you Kate; I think the white and green works much better than the white vase last week when there wasn’t enough green to support it. I was watching Gardener’s World the other week and the head gardener at Sissinghurst said that Vita called the white garden the white, silver and green garden and I think that makes much more sense.

  10. I thought you couldn’t do better than that beautiful mix of white and lime flowers but you proved me wrong with your vibrant second vase. Actually, I can’t choose a favorite between the two, both very different but equally spectacular.

  11. Both vases are just wonderful and I usually am not fond of all white-but the colors and textures are just beautiful and just enough green to set it off. I also love the second one and the cosmos were a perfect addition. Hate to admit it, but I love gladioulus as well!

  12. Your cutting garden is such an inspiration Christina – you always have the flowers I am looking forward to actually in flower! I completely agree with you that Cathy has been an inspiration in getting us to actually go out and cut from our cutting gardens – I would be just as guilty of letting the moment pass without this weekly prompt. I also struggled with my early sowing of larkspur this year, but found it very easy to germinate last autumn and it overwintered well under cover. These plants are just coming into flower in my garden. I had plans to take lots of photos of the cutting garden over the weekend but the weather has been terrible here.

    • The weather hasn’t been much better here Julie; but it is set to change and then I’ll be complaining about the heat! I sowed last year’s Larkspur in autumn 2014 and did have better germination. I’ll make sure I have fresh seed ready for this September; I do love them and would be happy to have more. Do yours keep flowering if you keep cutting them?

  13. What a constrasting duo of vases Christina. I’m especially drawn to the white and lime green combination. I can envisage some nicotiana ‘Lime Green’ in the mix too. Zinnia ‘Polar Bear’ has been noted for next year so thank you 🙂

  14. I can’t decide which I like the best, Christina, your two vases are both so gorgeous. The adorable white zinnia certainly is the thing that most caught my eye. And I agree with you about Cathy. The challenge has certainly made me think about the garden and make plans for it in ways I would never have bothered with if I didn’t have those vases in mind.

  15. Your opening remarks were very, very well said, Christina! Cathy really a star (and many of you others are, too) for hosting and religiously posting and then visiting each one of us participating in this meme. I’ve learnt so very much from it – it still seems like serendipity to me that right about the time I started reading it my husband requested a cut flower garden and told me where to put it – right out of the blue! To your vases – I have zinnia envy! (and I don’t mean the variety!) But perhaps I should try and sow again as you are doing with your larkspurs? I might just order some seed tonight, because I will truly miss them this year. And I had never thought of trying the white until I saw your lovely vase of white flowers. As for those sunflowers – glowing colours that warm the heart in the midst of all this rain. Thanks for a lovely post and a super vase on Monday!

  16. Christina esta vez se ha superado. Dos jarrones magníficos. El jarrón blanco es formidable. Me encantan el Ammi, la Dalia blanca y la Zinnia del oso polar. El segundo jarrón cautiva. Adoro los Girasoles, los Zinnia amarillos, el Cleome spinosa violeta de la reina, el Teucrium hyrcanicum y todas las flores que ha puesto. Creo que es el ramo de flores más maravilloso que ha hecho nunca. Por lo menos para mi gusto. Es precioso. Muchas gracias Christina por los jarrones de flores de todos los lunes. Me dan mucha alegría. Saludos de Margarita.

  17. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Blogging Friends | Rambling in the Garden

  18. Pingback: In a Vase: White | Wild Daffodil

Leave a Reply

