Tuesday View 5th July 2016

Every Tuesday Cathy at Words and Herbs asks us to choose a view and share it each week so we can see developments and seasonal changes.

Tuesday View 5th July

Tuesday View 5th July

A lot more golden brown is creeping into the view.  The past week has been suddenly hot – summer has arrived with a vengeance. the stems of the Lychnis are straw brown and the flower heads of Euphorbia are also golden brown.

Hibiscus, the foliage is looking very stressed

Hibiscus, the foliage is looking very stressed

All the Hibiscus around the garden are beginning to flower and the foliage on all of them looks wilted and stressed.  This is a very drought tolerant plant but I think all the rain has encouraged it to put on too much new foliage which it now can’t sustain.

This is one rosemary plant, planted by the Cypress - it must be about 8ft across and I do keep it prumed!

This is one rosemary plant, planted by the Cypress – it must be about 8ft across and I do keep it prumed!

Teucrium polium

Teucrium polium

I only have one Teucrium polium; I must make an effort to propagate it, either by scattering the seed or by cuttings, Silver foliage plants are the only ones that look better in bright sun.

Thanks to Cathy for hosting, I’ll add her link when her post is up.

23 thoughts on “Tuesday View 5th July 2016

  1. The contrast with my garden is very marked today- I spend my time cutting back lush green growth which overwhelms smaller plants. I like the silver leaved Teucrium.

    • Yes, that’s true but the garden becomes too much like the surrounding countryside that is tinder dry and a fire risk. My English eyes yearn for some green during the hot months of July and August but hopefully the new evergreen plantings of Mediterranean trees and shrubs will look at their best in summer.

  2. I think that is what happened to my lavender Christina… too much water and too much fresh growth has made them leggy and floppy. I love that Teuchrium in your last photo. And I am impressed with that rosemary!

  3. Chistina el conjunto del Cypress y el Romero gigante es una maravilla. El Hibiscus lucha por sus bellas flores. El Teucrium es precioso. Nunca lo había visto. El jardín está bonito incluso agotado por el calor. Saludos de Margarita.

  4. This really emphasises how important it is to know your climate and plant accordingly – on the couple of times I have been to Spain the lack of green is the one thing that stood out but of course there will be regional variations in most countries, including the UK. You must be really looking forward to seeing your new plantings mature!

    • The thing that is quite hard is the fact that although we’re only about 40 miles from the coast our climate isn’t Mediterranean because the winters are colder than that so lots of drought tolerant plants that, say, Kris can use just aren’t hardy here. The new design is already working and the lights are perfect when we’re on the garden on the evening.

  5. Hello Christina, the garden is looking hot and dry and it’s only early July. I hope the stressed plants get some relief soon. I love the rosemary wrapped round the base of the cypress.

  6. Your comment about the Hibiscus reminds me that every good thing in gardening can have a downside. Lots of rain can be good, but ironically as you say it can leave teh plant vulnerable to drought.

  7. I know you enjoy the silvery foliage all summer, but I love the dark greens of the rosemary as well. Between that and the cypress I feel like there are a few plants which don’t mind the drought and heat at all.
    If they were hardy I would level my own plantings and grow only those two since apparently everything else I have would rather die than suffer through any more of this miserably dry summer! I am so sick of watering 🙂

    • I understand how you feel about the plants suffering that is one reason I changed the planting last year, the evergreen Mediterranean natives should at least thrive in the heat.

Leave a Reply

