Tuesday View 12th July 2016

The last week has been scorching hot; by 9 am I need to close all the windows that are open at night to let some cool air into the house.  The outer and inner shutters  are closed so that the house is dark.  So far it still feels cool when I walk into the house from outside, I don’t know how much longer that will last.

I rise early and am usually in the garden before 7 to harvest what is ready to eat, by 10 I make any preserves from crops that have been harvested; in the afternoon it is too hot to do anything at all!  As you can tell we don’t have air-conditioning!

So to the view; the images were taken last evening at about 7 pm as you can see it was still hot and shimmering.

Tuesday View 12th July 2016

Tuesday View 12th July 2016

Lychnis stems are completely brown and Stipa tenuissima wafts its blond hair in the imperceptible breeze.

Hibiscus syriacus is looking very unhappy, the flowers are as shrivelled as the leaves

Hibiscus syriacus is looking very unhappy, the flowers are as shrivelled as the leaves

This is a plant I consider drought tolerant  but perhaps because of the rain in May and June it’s foliage is too soft.  I will probably have to help them with some water but I don’t usually irrigate this bed at all so I don’t want to begin now.

Iris and Echinops ritro

Iris and Echinops ritro

Echinops thrives in as much heat as can be thrown at it!  These are plants from two years ago; the new seedlings I planted out in spring are also surviving and looking fine but they won’t flower this year.

Do visit Cathy at Words and Herbs who kindly hosts this meme or join us in showing one view of your garden every week so we can note the changes.

32 thoughts on “Tuesday View 12th July 2016

  1. Your view draws me right in. It doesn’t look as hot as it must feel. Still seems very lush and golden, but I can see changes in the lychnis. Echinops is beautiful. Glad it performs well for you.

    • When I took the images it was already beginning to cool down last night, this evening it is still very hot and I’ve been watering the new (last autumn) planting.

      • I know you don’t like heat, although you put up with it stalwartly last summer at Duke Gardens. We haven’t had such hot temperatures this year but the humidity is climbing.

        • The humidity is worse than the heat for me. I did suffer last year but I enjoyed the day with you more than any other, I was so relaxed talking plants with you.

  2. You have captured the light beautifully again Christina. Once it becomes dry the grasses and golden colours just seem so right in your garden. Echinops is a plant I should try one day too. Thanks for joining me! 🙂

    • they are right I suppose but nothing really compares with green! I think I should pare back and prune hard the things that look dead to me and leave the evergreens and silvers to speak for themselves. I don’t go out with the camera anywhere near so often now it is hot and the light so bright; doing the Tuesday view will force me out and to think about what I’m seeing and feeling.

  3. Christina el jardín se ve precioso en las fotos. El Echinops ritro es una planta muy bonita que yo no conocía y se ve espléndido¡¡¡ El pobre Lychnis ya pasó su época de esplendor. El Hibiscus lleva razón en lo que dice: las últimas lluvias le hicieron crecer demasiado. Es una pena. Es una planta preciosa. Siento mucho que pase tanto calor Christina. Espero que las temperaturas bajen un poco. Saludos de Margarita.

  4. Nice textures. I feel wilted just listening to your description!
    I was just looking at my E. ritro this morning… I may end up having to stake them as they are beginning to gap and sag. That’ll be a prickly affair!

  5. I can imagine that heat. It must be hard to do any gardening when it’s so hot. I grew echinops Arctic Glow last year which was really beautiful and a change from the blue.

  6. Your view still has the golden shade of an early summer garden and not the grey of one withered in the heat. I hope a break comes along to give you some relief before it gets too tiring.
    We are also well into the heat and drought of summer, much earlier than usual and I’m not thrilled about that. Thankfully there have been cooler days here and there and some enjoyable nights with low humidity. I still enjoy summer much more than winter!

    • I don’t think we’ll get any rain now until September, but the temperatures may not continue to rise. We’ve had hotter Julys, the major problem is that so much rain in May and June has made the foliage so soft and sappy just perfect to be hit by drought!

  7. Your description of the heat reminds me of the weather in Australia around Christmas time. Morning and evening are the only time to go out. The soft light on your garden and grasses looks lovely, despite the heat of the day. Some plants are amazingly resilient.

  8. I don’t know how you do it. We’ve had 2 plus weeks of temps above 95 F almost every day with no rain, and the forecast for the next 10 days is the same. I can’t wait for September, when we usualy see improvement. Keep those shutters closed and take care.

  9. I can identify with your sun-baked space, as well as the necessity to retreat inside when the heat peaks (although we’re lucky enough to have air conditioning!). Unfortunately, we couldn’t survive the summer without irrigating, especially with the paltry winter rains we’ve had for 5 years now – the past 5 years are now on record as the driest period in the 140 years that records have been kept in southern California.

    • At least for the moment it is cooler at night and therefore the house remains cool (the walls of the house are about 70 cm thick so that they warm up slowly and actually release the heat in winter so that it is pleasantly warm well into the autumn without having to turn the heating on.

    • Yes, I imagine it is your heavy soil; Echinops is one of the few plants that flower in high summer without addition water; even the tiny seedlings I planted out (probably a bit soon) are surviving but I expect I will give them a little water if the drought continues.

    • Any plant that has a lot more water than it needs just seems to grow and become floppy. I never have to stake things in the garden but the cut flower beds where they are irrigated every night would collapse without the netting to hold them up. UK gardeners in general have to stake because there is almost always quite a lot of rain, and some have to irrigate because like some of my plants this year they have become accustomed to having lots of water and when they don’t, they flop.

  10. It is so interesting to hear about your heat and how you deal with it, with your various routines both in and out of the house. Did you sow the echinops yourself or havevthey self seeded? My ‘Arctic Glow’ self seeds but I haven’t noticed the others doing so

Leave a Reply

