Earthquake

I’m sure that many of you are waking up to the news that there has been a severe earthquake in central Italy about 150 km from where we live.

We were woken at about 3.30 am by a door or window datelining violently, I thought it sounds like a trapped animal trying to escape and my husband went to investigate;  A few seconds later it happened again and I guessed that it was possibly an earthquake; there is a reason that my garden soil is entirely volcanic rock!

About half an hour later I felt the bed shake and the door began to rattle again, this was a much shorter shock but felt stronger to me.

My thoughts are with the people of the town of Amatrice, where by the way, the pasta sauce amatriciana comes from; I expect many of you will have heard of it or even eaten it.

This puts into perspective some of life’s other trials and problems; no damage as far as I can see to My Hesperides Garden, Christina

 

31 thoughts on “Earthquake

  1. We are so glad to hear you are safe, if not shaken. Thank you for posting and our prayers are with the villagers in Rieti and Norcia and Amatrice. I wonder how Castellucio fared…

  2. We have just been reading about it Christina and of course immediately thought of you. Oh, how absolutely terrifying. I am glad you are alright, but what a nightmare for the people affected.

  3. I have been thinking of you, and of the people of the region, so often affected by tremors and quakes. I do hope all is well and that you, your husband and all those living around you are all right. I imagine the possibility of such events is at the back of the mind for those who live in central Italy, but it’s difficult to experience it all the same. As you say, it does put life’s other tribulations into perspective. Best wishes, Sylvia

  4. My immediate thoughts were of you Christina, when we heard the news on the radio, so glad to know that you are safe and well. Our thoughts are with the people who have suffered damage and injury, we can never take Nature for granted.

  5. I didn’t sleep so well last night and was up at 5am. This was all over the news by then although they had no real idea how bad it was at that point. Thanks for letting us know you are OK, although obviously shaken by the news. Our thoughts are with the people of the region as they go through such a difficult time. It also sounded as if there could be a lot of holidaymakers in the area at the moment so people from all over will not know if their loved ones are safe or not. How terrible to go through that.

  6. I thought of you first off when I awoke to the news this morning. Glad you’re well–what a quake to have felt it from so far away. Good wishes for all who are impacted.

  7. I’m glad you are safe. I thought of you as soon as I saw the news this morning but haven’t been able to get to my computer until now. The pictures from the affected villages look devastating.

  8. Gracias a Dios que usted y su marido están bien. En cuanto me enteré pensé en tí Christina. Que no se vuelva a repetir nunca más. Mis oraciones están con los afectados. Saludos entrañables de Margarita.

  9. I’m so glad you posted your status, Christina. As soon as I heard the news report this morning I thought of you and wondered exactly where you were in relation to the quake. It’s a threat we live with too but even harder to prepare for than fire and flood. I’m happy to hear you came through it unscathed but so sorry for those directly impacted.

  10. Thank goodness all is well with you Christina. I heard about the earthquake while driving to the airport today. (Now safely arrived in the UK and it is HOT!)

  11. I have just come away from the BBC news to read and divert my mind. The devastation is grim and aftershock frightening. Stay safe Christina and may the death toll rise no further. Thoughts are with you and all of Italy.

  12. Very happy to hear that you , your family , and your garden came through the earthquake without harm. We have been watching the coverage and our hearts go out to all those who have lost so much and so many loved ones . What a difficult summer it’s been for you . I’m glad you have the beauty of your garden to lift your spirit .

Leave a Reply

