In a Vase on Monday – From simple to over the top

I want to thank everyone who commented and showed their concern on my last two posts; it made a big difference to know you were there!  Thank you my blogging friends, I feel humble to have such wonderful people reading my blog.

Time to join Cathy at Rambling in the Garden to share more vases filled with flowers from the garden.  Do pop over to see what she and everyone else has found in their gardens to pick today.

On the mantle piece a collection of vases with Zinnias

On the mantle piece a collection of vases with Zinnias

Zinnias are so varied they must be THE best flower to grow for cutting

Zinnias are so varied they must be THE best flower to grow for cutting

I will be happy to grow all of these again plus some new ones too, maybe.  Do tell me your favourite varieties.

A hand tied bouquet for my hostess on Friday evening

A hand tied bouquet for my hostess on Friday evening

More Zinnias, Dahlias, Tithonia and sunflowers.

2nd update to my vase of two weeks ago with white Zinnias and Italian White sunflowers

2nd update to my vase of two weeks ago with white Zinnias and Italian White sunflowers

This vase had been one of the longest lasting with the addition of fresh flowers to the basic foliage fillers of Agastache and Ami visnaga

This vase had been one of the longest lasting with the addition of fresh flowers to the basic foliage fillers of Agastache and Ami visnaga

This is my large rectangular vase so the arrangement is quite imposing

This is my large rectangular vase so the arrangement is quite imposing

A mix of long stemmed Zinnia, Dahlias and Ami visnaga

A mix of long stemmed Zinnia, Dahlias, Cleone and Ami visnaga

Thanks Cathy for hosting.  Have a good week everyone.

PS This evening they will be spraying the fields again this time with something less aggressive and less harmful to pollinators but that has a long residue life.  No meal outside this evening!

51 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – From simple to over the top

  1. I have never grown Zinnias for some reason. Last year was the first year I grew Cleome, and the second year for growing Tithonia. I love your big square vase with the Cleome and Ammi. Is the dark flower a Dahlia?

        • Or maybe it isn’t getting enough water perhaps. I noticed that the Dahlia I planted two years ago (that was a tiny rhizome) produced about 150 huge flowers it its first year, many fewer last year and only a handful this year so I think mine has run out of food.

  2. I love both the simple and the ornate and find myself doing just that with plants from the allotment (simple) and ornate from the garden. Never quite on your scale it has to be said but none the less home grown flowers give me a huge amount of pleasure.

    • Cut flowers from the garden are the only thing putting a smile on my face at the moment. I love being able to do huge arrangements with garden flowers; you could never afford to buy flowers to do this.

  3. All the vases are nice. I share your admiration for zinnias. Dispersing them into multiple vases on your mantel is a wonderful idea.They look so cheerful siting there!

  4. I love the zinnias along the mantelpiece – so stylish, and I am really excited about the prospect of using zinnias more after reading about your success and my partial success so far. Purple Prince has lagged behind but Sprite Mixed have formed lovely plants although I should have piched them out earlier – no more flowers as yet. The ability to produce a huge arrangement or bouquet if we wanted is definitely one of the joys of cutting beds, like you say, and people really appreciate them when received as a gift. The longevity of your sunflower and zinna vase is amazing, isn’t it? Oh, it’s SO good to be back and sharing vases and knowledge again! 🙂

  5. I was away last week and able to read your posts, though not respond. I have a friend who spends her summers in Vasto and, like you, suffered no damage, but my heart goes out to those who have lost loved ones and homes. I hope you have some recourse with your neighbor. It doesn’t seem possible such thing would be allowed. You are in my thoughts.

  6. It is amazing how some arrangements just last and last. I finally dismantled my teapot arrangement and I think that was at least 3 weeks old. Pulling out passed flowers and putting in fresh can really extend its time. I love the creamy sunflowers in your soft white arrangement and the exuberance of your pink one. Flowers add so much to a home!

  7. Such an abundance of beautiful flowers, your vases are all gorgeous. I hope the spraying will be over soon and you will be able to enjoy your garden again. Living in the countryside has its downside sometimes. I suffer terribly from asthma at harvest time and spend every walk or cycle ride ducking and diving to avoid the combiners. At least they no longer do stubble burning or aerial crop spraying.

  8. I especially love that last arrangement in your big square vase Christina, but they are all wonderful. How lovely to fill the house with such pretty creations when outside is too hot (and hazardous). The sunflowers are really pretty too. I think you showed a white zinnia a few weeks ago. Was it called Polar Bear or something similar? I would like to add that to my seed list if I can find it. Thanks.

  9. I’m very impressed by that vase of white zinnias and sunflowers, Christina – what staying power! The zinnias I’m growing this year (all from plugs) aren’t particularly impressive. Next year I hope to get an earlier start and grow some of the cactus varieties from seed.

    I’m sorry to hear that the spraying is continuing. I hope that, as promised, the material causes less harm.

  10. Christina aquí estamos para darle ánimos. Lo siento por las nuevas fumigaciones. Piense en que su marido y usted no han sufrido ningún daño. Y PIENSE EN SUS MARAVILLOSAS FLORES. Todos los jarrones son maravillosos. ¡Cómo dura el jarrón de Zinnias blancas y Girasoles blancos italianos! Es precioso. Me encantan los jarrones de Zinnias encima de la chimenea : quedan preciosos. Me gustan mucho las Zinnias pero nunca he logrado que crezcan. Muchas gracias por alegrame el día con sus flores. Saludos de Margarita.

  11. Oh dear, I have been quite lax in my blog visiting and it seems you have had some sort of trouble. I will read back blogs to see what’s up, but add me to your long list of people rooting for you. The multiples of identical vases makes me happy…not to take away from the others, which are lovely too.

  12. I have just been catching up with your recent posts Christina. I’m sorry to read that you have had some difficult and upsetting days of late. I hope that your vases have provided you with some solace. My sister had a phone call from one of my Italian cousins on the morning of the earthquake to say that she was safe. What a dreadful tragedy.

    • The earthquake was terrible. Many people in our town rushed out of their houses and spent the night outside, we just went back to sleep; I don’t think that was because we were brave but rather we are still a bit unaware that it could happen where we live.

  13. You are enjoying quite a bounty of flowers this time of year, at least you can enjoy them inside. My zinnnias are putting on a show now as well. Do you prefer the doubles or singles? I have to admit I do like the fully packed doubles even when the singles are so elegant 🙂

  14. Christina, you have such a gift for flower arranging! All your vases are gorgeous. I agree with you about zinnias. Not only do they make wonderful arrangements, but zinnias attract butterflies to the garden. The sight of all those “flying flowers” adds to the beauty of the zinnias and other colorful blooms in the garden.

Leave a Reply

