In a Vase on Monday – Zinnias are the stars

IT RAINED!!!!!

Yes, the first rains of autumn arrived on Saturday and Sunday afternoons and possibly through Sunday night too; in no way did it spoil the weekend, rather I felt more alive than for a while; the garden heaved a gentle sigh and already there are new shoots on plants that had been hibernating.

I know the above is irrelevant in terms of IAVOM but I wanted to share the joy that rain brings when it has been dry and hot for two months.

It was cooler too, so my vases were prepared outside and photographed in the sunshine which while it is bright is not now a glaring and sapping of colour as it was even a week ago.

A simple vase of just Zinnias and a couple of Dahlias for the kitchen

A simple vase of just Zinnias and a couple of Dahlias for the kitchen

However much I tried I couldn't make the flowers balanced on each side of the vase and then the stems were so tightly packed in that I couldn't squeeze any more in

However much I tried I couldn’t make the flowers balanced on each side of the vase and then the stems were so tightly packed in that I couldn’t squeeze any more in

Here Crimson Zinnias are combined with pink Cleome, Mauve and pink Dahlias, Cosmos and Verbena bonariensis

Here Crimson Zinnias are combined with pink Cleome, Mauve and pink Dahlias, Cosmos and Verbena bonariensis

Orange and pink/yellow Zinnias are the supporting caste to fiery orange Daahlias

Orange and pink/yellow Zinnias are the supporting caste to fiery orange Dahlias with a contrast from Aster Monch.

This orange Dahlia is shaded with pink.

This orange Dahlia is shaded with pink.

Orange Dahlia with ruby backs to the petals

Orange Dahlia with ruby backs to the petals

This Zinnia has stars of its own

This Zinnia has stars of its own and I love the orange/pink colour just like the Dahlia

So it is a big thank you to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden who with this wonderful meme has encouraged me to keep posting through the heat and drought of the summer; do visit to see her quite autumnal vase and vases from around the world; so we can begin to enjoy tulips already!

Have a lovely week and may the weather be with you!

 

49 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – Zinnias are the stars

  1. Glad you got the rain! I am so looking forward to using zinnias in avase after seeing yours – I have 2 at the moment, on different plants and this is the maximum I have had at one time. I deliberately sowed them later, early in May, but will try a few weeks earlier next year – I want to emulate your cast of 1000s! It was your second vase that knocked me for six – absolutely wonderful, Christina, and what a joy to have that abundance! Thanks for sharing

    • The vases came together differently today; I picked to two basic colour themes but wasn’t sure how I’d put them together; the pink toned vase is lovely but I think the orange is possibly better but the variation in colour was a little lost in the sun.

  2. Fabulous! I can imagine that rain accompanied by cooler temps must be most welcome. Asters are a great addition to the late summer/Autumn garden here too, I hope they will enjoy a well deserved renaissance of popularity.

    • I can only grow Asters in the irrigated cut flower beds but I love seeing them in gardens in autumn; there is such a wonderful range of colours and sizes, there is one for every space.

  3. So glad the rains have come. Gorgeous inspiring flower combinations and I especially love the dahlia and zinnia vase. I find it so satisfying growing and cutting flowers whatever size bunch I manage to find to pick.

    • It is hard to describe how I feel when we get a reasonable rainfall after two months of drought, I feel like doing a dance of thanks! I do agree about the pleasure of flowers cut from the garden; I don’t think I even like bought flowers any more.

  4. I am so glad your rains have come, what a relief. We are in desperate need of some too, although I shouldn’ t complain as the weather is so lovely and warm. You still have such an abundance of wonderful blooms. I love the zinnias and the second arrangement with the lovely cleomes is stunning.

  5. Christina que explosión de color después de las esperadas lluvias. Todas las Zinnias son maravillosas. Los jarrones son todos preciosos y con el color muy bien combinado. El Aster me encanta. Gracias por animarme el día con tus jarrones. Saludos de Margarita.

  6. Hooray for rain. Certainly the light is much better for photography than the blistering climate you have had to deal with recently. How many fabulous flowers you have, the weather certainly hasnt stopped your production.

  7. Congratulations on the rain! To say I’m envious would be an understatement. The morning skies are gray here and there’s a chance of rain tomorrow but I’m not counting on it. Real rain here is probably a couple of months away yet.

    Your garden continues to explode with flowers. All your vases are wonderful but the third is my favorite – it’s a luscious color mix.

    • I think the orange vase is my favourite too Kris. The rain has made me feel so much better and mornings and evenings now feel fresh even though the middle of the day is still hot.

  8. Isn’t rain wonderful! I know exactly what you mean about ”the garden heaved a gentle sigh”…..it doesn’t matter how much you ”hand water” a garden, nothing compares with rain water..
    I love zinnas, they just keep on going regardless of heat and drought. The garden looks lovely.

  9. Wonderful you had rain! Even my zinnias are giving up due to dry weather. Yours look very happy and that Orange Dahlia is magnificent. Nice arrangements Christina. Glad you’re still getting lots of blooms.

  10. I’ve been so grateful to see rain this weekend too and it does have an instant impact on the garden. I love your purple vase, they are my favourite colours and again I love to see cleome in the arrangement. The vase works perfectly, reflecting muted versions of all the tones.

  11. They are all beautiful Christina! And I can feel your happiness at the rain shining through these arrangements too. I don’t think I could pick a favourite – I love pink cleome, but I have also discovered the charm of zinnias this year too. The peachy pink vase is particularly eye-catching with that lovely dahlia. 🙂

  12. Well, I’m so happy for you and the garden, Christina, and aren’t your vases a perfect way to celebrate the precious rain. We’re supposed to get some tonight, just hope it won’t be as violent as they fear. I know the feeling of energy coming back to you when the air freshens and rain clears the tropical atmosphere. These past weeks reminded me a lot of times spent on islands in the Indian Ocean. We get the Tramontan wind here too, then on top of that the vent d’Autan which is blowing these days. Are you far from Rome? Trying to figure out where exactly you’re gardening. Enjoy the re-awakening of your garden, bliss!

    • We’re about half way between Rome and Siena or if you’ve ever visited Villa Lante we’re about 8 miles from there. There are hills (The Cimini) to our east and often rain falls on the hills or is dumped on Viterbo but we don’t get a drop! Where exactly are you?

      • Just had a look on the map, always thought Viterbo is your surname ;). You have lakes not far from you which is nice. Haven’t visited Villa Lante yet. We’re in Najac, Aveyron, about 1.5 hours North of Toulouse at the South-Western end of the Massif Central. Feels more like Gobi though these days.

Leave a Reply

