Tuesday View 27th September

It is interesting to watch the Tuesday View change each week; mostly in the last couple of weeks it is the light that I notice most.

Today the images were taken at about 5 pm; and much of the shot is actually in shade as the sun is already sinking behind the Quercus ilex (Holly oak or Holm oak).

The Tuesday View

The Tuesday View

The deep colouring on these Sedum (I think Purple Emperor) shows that the flowers have not actually opened yet where as those on S. Matrona have opened and are now just decorative seedheads.

The deep colouring on these Sedum (I think Purple Emperor) shows that the flowers have not actually opened yet where as those on S. Matrona have opened and are now just decorative seed-heads.

I say I think S. Purple Emperor because I have been reminded that I also have S. Chocolate.

I've been adding to the Large Island, this morning I planted some Perovskia

I’ve been adding to the Large Island, this morning I planted five Perovskia

I also planted out some Sedum cuttings just to the right of this image; I think these are cuttings of S. Chocolate.  I’m not sure because some of the labels seem to have been swapped!

After the huge amount of rain of a ten days ago, the past week has been without any precipitation.  But the mornings and evenings are cool (perfect gardening weather) and the afternoon warm enough to sit out an read a book.

Do visit Cathy at Words and Herbs to see her view this week and others who have some interesting views to share.

Have a lovely week.

40 thoughts on “Tuesday View 27th September

    • There are hundreds of Sedum cultivars now. I would recommend ‘Matrona’, ‘Purple Emperor’, and ‘Chocolate’. I bought another dark on at Beth Chatto’s when I went with Liz in August, I gave her the plant and took a couple of stems for cuttings some of which already have new leaves.

  1. Your view looks exquisite this week. Lovely soft light and colour too. I think you can best see all the different textures you have in this kind of light. I hadn’t heard of Sedum ‘Chocolate’, but it seems a fitting name for the darker flowers. I also planted a new Perovskia this week… it is a slightly smaller one called ‘Little Spire’, as it is near the bottom of the rockery with less space to drape itself around. Did you buy new plants or use cuttings?

    • I’m glad you like the Sedum; I have a nice bunch of cuttings that have put on new leaves; I think it was too late in the year for leave cuttings as none of those took, but most of the stem cuttings have struck.

    • The name just means the stems are brown rather than purple but it’s nice to have some different varieties as they are one of the few plants that look really good in summer even if that is the foliage and flower buds – the buds last for ages before they open which is interesting I think.

  2. Agree totally with the comments – the light in your garden is lovely now, drawing out the rich colours of your mixed planting: It looks beautiful. Is sedum the ice plant? It looks very familiar and it reminds me of our tortoise (we kept her in our garden in England in the 60s) – she loved the succulent leaves of the plant.

  3. I love the photo of the soft grey plants amongst the others in the evening light…..I always think of grey foliage as being drought tolerant and very hardy, we have so many of them in Australia.

  4. Like Chloris, I am increasingly growing fonder of sedums too and will be adding to my collection next year. they make such nice clumps, especially if you can disguise any inherent floppiness. Does your photo show a group of them, or is it one plant? Have realised I don’t know the normal max spread. I shall also be ordering some perovskia after having seen it frequently on your and other’s blogs – and am wondring whether to join in the Tuesday View too!

  5. I envy you the cooler temperatures, Christina, and your success with the dark-leaved Sedum. My purple Sedum almost disappear during the summer months – they come back when the temperatures decline but the plants can’t be called robust by any means.

  6. rain, cool mornings and evenings and warm afternoons. It sounds like you’ve made it through another summer and are finally able to enjoy every minute of the day!
    I had to laugh a bit when I saw that you were planting perovskia again. What a reliable plant it is, I’ve had some out front which has been attractive since the start of summer to today.

  7. Funny enough, Purple Emperor isn’t a happy bunny in my French garden whereas before it did so well but I’ve since read about the sedum trial in Germany where many red-leaved varieties proved difficult. Christina, there’s an interesting article on thinkinggardens, maybe you’ve read it already, by an Italian couple about ‘drought-tolerant’ plants.

    • I read the article and the couple live much further north than me and quote 36 days without rain, here it is often more than 60. I agree that using Beth Chatto as a starting point is good but although she has very low rainfall the temperatures are considerably lower. Right plant Right place is the only way to go. Look at natives in the area and hope that cultivated varieties will respond in a similar way.

      • that’s exactly it, I think one has to read any literature with care as drought-resistant in Essex certainly means a completely thing where you and me live. never mind, it has rained since and everything is looking so much better x

        • With the rain we’ve now had the garden looks positively lush now. I think I should just go away for the whole of August and not think about it!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

