In a Vase on Monday – Feeling Blue

Mondays in December can be difficult to find flowers to pick from our gardens to fill a vase.  But Cathy at Rambling in the Garden challenges us every week and so we go rambling ourselves to see what we can find.

My ramblings yesterday discovered some Anemone coronaria, I love these as cut flowers, it was one of the flowers I would choose to buy as a cut flower when I used to buy flowers, I love their deep rich colours.

In a vase on Monday

In a vase on Monday

Anemone coronaria 'Mr Fokker', Anemone coronaria 'The Bride' and Eryngium alpinum

Anemone coronaria ‘Mr Fokker’, Anemone coronaria ‘The Bride’ and Eryngium alpinum

The Eryngium alpinum were sown on 15th January this year and have been flowering for about a month, but this is the first time I’ve picked any of them.  I have more seed so will sow more as they should survive with minimum water next summer.

The Iris I showed you in a vase last week still has one bloom and one bud, the rest of the flowers all opened and has given me a lot of pleasure all week.

Iris

Iris ‘Pure as Gold’

This was the Iris on 30th November, the bloom open now is the one still closed just under the top flower.

With thanks to Cathy for hosting, do visit her to see what everyone else has found this week.  Have a good week.

40 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – Feeling Blue

  1. Our gardens are crossing over again. I planted blue anemones as well as ‘The Bride’ this year after seeing it in IAVOM and they have only just stopped flowering. The flowers lasted so long in pots in the shade. My Eryngium is going to flower soon, all going well.It’s the first time I have successfully grown it, but I have seen it covered with bees in our local botanic gardens.

  2. I love it Christina. What a lovely combination. I love blue flowers and what a treat to have these at this time of the year. I love anemones and will definitely grow them next year. Perfect for a vase.

  3. That eryngium is so pretty and will be such an asset as the flowers will look as good dried as they do fresh – and what a joy to have the anemone flowering. Some of the anemones I planted in pots in the greenhouse are sprouting, even earlier than the ones I planted last year for the wedding, so heaven knows when they will be flowering! Thnaks for sharing.ps I do love these tall skinny vases of yours

    • I bought the vases in Ikea, I know it sounds as if I buy everything there but in truth I buy vases, coir blocks and napkins. Thanks for reminding me that the Eryngium will dry.

      • Well we all know that IKEA make some very useful and practical things 😉 Haven’t been for a few years myself, but do see visiting a branch at a quiet time a bit of a ‘treat’ 🙂

  4. I’m hoping to have Eryngium next year, I think I’ve bought some seeds, I’ll have to check! You are lucky to have them and those anemones too, always cheerful.

  5. The anemones are wonderful. I’ve seen foliage appear here but, as I never got any actual flowers last year, I’m not laying any bets about flowers this year (unless I break down and buy new plants when they appear in the garden centers here). I like the Eryngium too – I wasn’t successful growing it in my former garden but I need to give it another try here.

  6. The anemone and Eryngium combination is lovely. You have reminded me I want to grow Eryngium again. That iris really is something. Is it a scented one? Looks like it should smell of lemons. Mmmmm!

    • Needs must with the simplicity, Rickii, but, yes, I agree even in mid-summer when there are masses of flowers a simple vase with just a couple of blooms can be very satisfying.

  7. Well you’ve made my day with these lovely anemones. Such a delight. I stopped by a garden center a couple of days ago and found myself standing in front of pots of Eryngium, but I wasn’t sure about it. Now I wish I’d picked one up to bring home.

  8. Christina the vase of the Anemonas contrasting with the Eryngium is beautiful. Its deep purple blue color is very beautiful. The Iris is divine in its vase. Two very nice vases. The Anemones blooming now: it’s wonderful. Like the Eryngium alpinum that I thought only bloomed in spring: but that’s better. Thank you for making us happy on Monday with your beautiful flower vases. Greetings from Margarita.

    • I think the Eryngium should flower in spring, Margarita, but because it was grown from seed this year its timing is confused. I expect it will flower at the expected time next year.

Leave a Reply

