No In a vase on Monday

There is no vase from me today – I had intended using the dried flowers I grew this year to make a Christmas swag, wreath or mantle decoration but at the weekend we received the very sad news that my mother in law had died peacefully in her sleep.

She was a wonderful woman much more like a mother to me than a MIL.  She was the person who first gave me the confidence to begin arranging flowers and when I began making regular vases for Cathy’s meme she encouraged me with kind words and with an inspirational book as a Christmas gift.

She will be sadly missed by everyone who knew and loved her.  A strong woman as many of her generation were, she was never too old to learn new things and at 90 years old, she followed this blog on her iPad!

I will sometimes be absent from the blogging world during the next couple of weeks but you can be sure that even if I don’t leave a comment I will be reading yours when I am able.

Thank you for understanding.  Christina

 

30 thoughts on “No In a vase on Monday

  1. Oh Christina – I am so sorry to hear about your mother-in-law’s death. Weren’t you just about to visit? Presumably the news must have come as quite a shock – my thoughts are with both of you. So sad to have lost a person that you loved and admired and respected like this. Sending love and best wishes for the strength to get through the next few weeks in particular xx

  2. I am so sorry to hear this, Christina. I was close to my MIL too and still feel her loss. My condolences to both you and your husband. May your good memories sustain you through the coming months.

  3. Christina, my deepest condolences. My heart is at his side. I am very sorry for the loss of such a dear person. Think about how good she is in her happy moments at her side. Whatever you need, Margarita.

  4. Just catching up and reading your sad news Christina…..I felt the same way about my MIL. I remember you mentioned your wonderful MIL on your blog, and how much she supported you. I am sending loving thoughts for comfort and peace to you and your family.

  5. I am just catching up with a little blog reading Christina and wanted to leave my heartfelt condolences here even though we have spoken. I hope that your plans for the funeral are coming together and I will be thinking about you on the 23rd. This is such a sad time, made all the more poignant by the imminent arrival of Christmas. xx

  6. I am sorry to read of the loss of your mother-in-law, Christina. It is always hard to lose a loved one, to adjust to life without them, especially at this time of year when it seems others are making merry. I hope you find some peace in knowing she lived a long and rich life.
    My apologies for my late viewing of your post. December has been a busy month at work, I’ve barely had time to visit other blogs.

  7. I am just catching up with your posts Christina and I am so sorry to read about your MIL, you always spoke so warmly of her in your blog, how wonderful that she introduced to you flower arranging, what a really lovely gift that is. My sincere condolences, with kind wishes, Julie.

  8. As the days have passed since your mom in law’s death, I hope your found courage and strength to withstand such a trial. With each loss as we get older we realize how short our life is! In 2017 I plan to make it the best year by living it fully. Bless you, Jackie

Leave a Reply

