In a Vase on Monday – a little summer colour

Monday brings the challenge of finding something from our own gardens to put in a vase to share with Cathy at Rambling in the Garden.

The only fresh flowers I found in the garden today were more Anemone coronaria and much I as I am enjoying them in the kitchen I thought perhaps their use for today’s vase might be a bit boring for my readers.

Some of my regular readers may remember that back in December 2015 (yes, that long ago) I posted about a visit to Cotehele in Cornwall to see the wonderful swag of dried flowers they put up each Christmas.  My order for  seeds of the flowers I’d seen failed but I did find some Helichrisum locally so last year I grew just those to see what the results would be like.  I had intended making my own mini swag for Christmas but that was not to be …..

So for something completely different!

In a vase on Monday 23.01.23

In a vase on Monday 23.01.23

I used some of our collection of African bucchero to act as props for this weeks arrangement

I used some of our collection of African bucchero to act as props for this weeks arrangement

The woman is carved from wood

The jugs and pots are lovely shapes but don't hold water as they haven't been fired at high enough temperatures

The jugs and pots are lovely shapes but don’t hold water as they haven’t been fired at high enough temperatures

So I am happy to be able to use them for these dried flowers.

The fire is alight every evening at present so I can't put any fresh flowers on the mantle piece

The fire is alight every evening at present so I can’t put any fresh flowers on the mantle piece

I am rather pleased and surprised with the result!

I am rather pleased and surprised with the result!

Along with the Helichrisum I used other dried flowers from the garden.  The Bells of Island are a bit of a disappointment as the flowerheads tend to drop off very easily and the stems were never as long as I would have liked.

There are also some dried flowers of Cotinus, Salvia ‘Indigo Spires’, Hydrangea ‘Annabel’, Miscanthus ‘Morning Light’ and Eryngium alpina.

With my thanks to Cathy, do visit to see her pretty vase this week and discover what others are finding in their gardens this week.

 

51 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – a little summer colour

  1. I love them. I used to grow loads of dried flowers and I was only recently wondering why I haven’ t done it for ages. I have ordered lots of seeds for flowers for drying from Chilterns this year. How lovely yours look with the dark vases.

  2. Beautiful! Not what you planned perhaps, but well-worth doing. The colors are beautifully preserved and you’ve done an exceptional job in arranging your vignette. I’m glad to hear you plan to persist…hope to see more.

  3. Yes, Sandra is spot on in her comment about the dark vases. What a lovely selection of dried blooms you have used today – when you said your order failed does that mean you didn’t get the seeds or that they didn’t grow for you? I now have my leonotis seeds, including a white version as well as the orange and am champing at the bit to sow them but will leave them to February

    • The order just failed as I clicked confirm and I had spent ages putting it together so just gave up silly really. A white Leonotis sounds interesting, I’ll have to look for it too. BTW the Echinops have germinated! So I can look forward to the white version as well as the blue.

  4. A delightful arrangement and to think that most is dead, the perfect antidote to my own vase. Love African art as well, they’re so talented. How is the weather? Do you think you’ll loose much through the cold? Have a good week xx

    • All is dead; it surprises me just how bright the colours remain when they’re dried. Bucchero was also made by the Etruscans who lived in this area 2000 years ago, I’ve even found fragments of their pottery in the garden. My husband travels in Africa a lot with his work for the UN so its nice to be able to use something he’s brought back. I don’t think I’ve lost anything unless there is a problem with the tree I showed yesterday.

  5. You have every right to be pleased, Christina – these are lovely! I’m still amazed that Leonotis dries so well – if my own plants weren’t a sad, sodden mess after our most recent rainstorm, I’d give that a try right now. Have you grown Limonium perezii? It’s a drought and heat tolerant plant here that produces lovely purple flowers that also dry well. It seems like a plant that would also fare well in your climate, even with your colder winter temperatures. (My reference guide suggests that it can handle temperatures down to -4C.)

  6. I remember that amazing swag! Your arrangements are quite striking with the African jugs and pots, and the carved woman is a perfect complement.

  7. It’s wonderful to see your vases full of bright dried flowers, Christina! I’m quite impressed by the lengths of some of those stems – assuming you haven’t wired them, but it doesn’t look like it. I tried strawflowers here in the first spring and they grew nicely, but next spring I caught a couple of plants growing – and blooming – in nearby untended areas of the yard. So I panicked a bit about letting loose a potentially invasive species as there really would be nothing to stop it once it got out of our yard. But I think maybe I overreacted and I might try it again… once anyway!

  8. What a beautiful display of contrast between the dark vases and the brightness of the flowers. I grew helichrysum one year and it was very successful, so I may have to have another attempt
    I’m fascinated to read you have recovered Etruscan pottery from your garden. What a wonderful way to touch the past.

    • The Etruscans are very present in our area; everywhere you can see their tombs are carvings. The people in the town where I live have been genetically proved to have mostly Etruscan genes and you can see it in their build – they are very like the figures in the painted tombs at Tarquinia; their bridges are still used in some places; in fact they were the builders of roads and bridges, rather than the Romans who just copied them.

Leave a Reply

