In a Vase on Monday – all together now!

Monday gives everyone the opportunity to pick something from their gardens to put in a vase and enjoy in their homes; Cathy at Rambling in the Garden can have had no idea what a change she was going to make to people’s lives when she first thought up this meme.

Today I have more tulips to share with  you although I could have picked many more colourful Anemone coronaria or some of the wild plum blossom which is now flowering all around me.

The first vase was actually picked and arranged for the weekend.

Mixed vase of tulips with Cerinthe

Mixed vase of tulips with Cerinthe

Cerinthe and Tulip Charming Lady

Cerinthe and Tulip Charming Lady

I grew Cerinthe from seed years ago and have never had to sow it again; it reliably sets seed very quickly (before it gets too hot and the seeds germinate in the first autumn rains; some years it flowers as early as Christmas but this year it has only just come into flower.

Tulip Charming Lady

Tulip Charming Lady

I think she’s very charming indeed!

Tulip Double Negrita

Tulip Double Negrita

Tulip Mount Tacoma, very open

Tulip Mount Tacoma, very open

Tulip Mount Tacoma only just open

Tulip Mount Tacoma only just open

Tulip Double Negrita

Tulip Double Negrita

Tulip Malaika

Tulip Malaika

Tulip Malaika, Lavender pink, feathering to brownish orange edge. Sadly Peter Nyssen says this tulips won’t be available in future as the growers are withdrawing it; a shame as it has very interesting colouration

In a vase on Monday

In a vase on Monday

The forecast for today was clouds with rain but so far it is warm and sunny, very different to the weekend which was horrible.

Have a lovely week and thank you Cathy for hosting

48 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – all together now!

  1. Ooh, I love Charming Lady. I don’t recall seeing it in any of the catalogues here. It looks so pretty with the Cerinthe too. I keep buying seed and not planting it, perhaps this will inspire me. I like its common name ‘Honeywort’ too.

  2. such unusual colours in your tulips. If I had those, I might change my mind about tulips. I only have the blatant reds and yellows. Lost a bunch of green ones and white striped ones.

  3. You are quite right about not anticipating the IAVOM effect! 🙂 All your tuluips are beautiful, and it is is hepful for us bloggers to have you showcasing all these different varieties so we can make a note of which to include for ourselves in other years. I especially like Charming Lady, but there is also a uniquess about Malaika which makes it very attractive. I sowed cerinthe in October and have just planted it out (with a hint of buds) – sadly it very rarely seems to to self sow here. Thanks for generously sharing your tulips 🙂

  4. Christina shared her love for tulips: I love them all. The first vase has soft colors contrasted with the green of the Cerinthe: a whim. The second vase is an explosion of color and different tulips, each more beautiful. I do not know which one to stay with. I like them all! I’m glad it’s sunny and good. I also wish you a happy week. Greetings from Margarita.

      • I’m so sorry Christina for the whirlwind and the sudden change of time. Be very careful when leaving outside do not go to be some tree branch half broken and you fall on or next to him and it will hurt you. The important thing is that you are well. You know I’m by your side for what you need. Greetings from Margarita.

  5. Such a beautiful bouquet of tulips, Christina. ❤ I wish the rodents and deer didn't like them so much around here. They even nibble them when I'm trying to force them in the garage. The pots have to be in wire cages! I particularly love 'Charming Lady' and it is a shame about 'Malaika.' I wonder how many tulip hybrids pass away, succumbing to fashion trends. I guess it is a form of Darwinism. 😉

    • Having only just discovered ‘Malaika’, I was sorry to discover it was no longer available, but there are always new introductions and maybe the grower found it didn’t reproduce as well as some of the others.

    • You could grow some early tulips in your conservatory; the secret is in the chilling! Glad I brightened your day. Bright, blinding sunshine but with 50 km per hour wind here!!!

  6. Your tulip based vases are drop dead gorgeous, Christina! The cerinthe is a wonderful addition, too. I know you grow a wide range in pots, but how deep do you plant the tulip bulbs in the borders?

    • I’m glad you enjoy the tulips. In the borders I plant them at twice the height of the bulb; which is about the depth my trowel goes down to, so maybe 5 or 6 inches.

  7. Stunning flowers; stunning photos! Love the cerinthe as the filler – I’ve grown it here in the past but in my heavy clay soil very little that I want to self seed ever does!

  8. What soft and subtle tulips Christina. I think that ‘Charming Lady’ was one of my unplanted tulips 😦 If so she will be added to this year’s list. It is indeed a shame that ‘Malaika’ is being withdrawn. I can’t understand the logic of it. Cerinthe seeds itself both in my garden and at the allotment but of course it’s too early for it to be in flower yet.

Leave a Reply

