The garden this week – changable weather

In Monday’s post I mentioned that the weather forecast was for rain but that it was a lovely sunny morning.

I managed to get lots of weeding done; working my way systematically around all the borders; there was a cool wind but it was pleasant.

Monday evening and we had just finished dinner when suddenly it seems someone was outside throwing buckets of water at the windows or maybe someone had grabbed a hose and was force spaying the water against all the windows at once!

Then the wind started; we could hardly hear ourselves speak INSIDE the house.  It was terrifying.  I’ve encountered a whirlwind (tornado) before but this was worse.  I was dreading going into the garden the following morning fearing that all the trees would be blown down and that all the tulips around the garden that were just coming into bud would all be decapitated.

Overturned and lifted about 2 metres away from where it was on the terrace

I’d brought these tulips out of the greenhouse to enjoy on the terrace as I didn’t need them to pick for the house. I’d seem them being blown round and round, incredibly some even still have their petals

This poor lemon was almost sucked out of its pot.

Only the lightweight chairs are out at the moment, yet despite being full of holes for the wind to pass through, 2 chairs were tossed in the air and deposited a couple of metres away.

Tuesday was windy all day (55 km per hour strength winds) and Wednesday not much better; but Thursday everything changed, the wind dropped and the sun was strong.  When I was driving past one of the temperature displays in town at about 5pm it said that the temperature was 31°C – we haven’t had that kind of temperature since last October!  Today was similar but the wind is starting to blow again, but thankfully not quite so hard.

The warm weather has encouraged many flowers to bloom.

There are masses more Anemone flowering – here A. coronaria ‘The Bride’

Newly planted tulips (T. Brown Sugar’ by the Melia are all open.

Hyacinths are opening their fragrant blooms all around the garden

I planted more Hyacinths last autumn as the ones I planted 5 years ago return consistently so it seemed worth having more.

Clematis armandii

The crab apple and the Quince have foliage just beginning to break.

Tonight we’re invited out and I thought it would be nice to take some flowers from the garden as I had such bounty.

A basket of spring flowers from the garden

I included: lots of Anemone coronaria White, Cerise and Blue, Cerinthe, Teucrium, Euphorbia rigida, Narcissus PaperWhite and Cheerfulness, and tulips, Double Negrita (flowering in the garden now), Mount Tacoma and Exotic Emperor

I hope your gardening weather is more like today than my Monday, have a great weekend.  Do you have violent weather where you live, what weather do you dislike the most?

 

52 thoughts on “The garden this week – changable weather

  1. I love seeing how even the most delicate petals can withstand cyclone force winds. Such resiliency! I hope the winds don’t return and you can enjoy your bountiful garden. The bouquet for your friends is so lovely.

  2. Such high winds can be alarming Christina, in their aftermath it’s always a relief to see there hasn’t been too serious damage outside. We had t-shirt weather on Thursday too, such a (short lived) treat!

  3. How amazing that you still had so many lovely flowers after your storm on Monday, I was thinking it would be devastation everywhere! At the moment our weather is rather quiet, a bit of rain, a bit of fog, quite a bit of sunshine and thankfully, not much wind, hence the fog.

  4. Christina must have been horrible the whirlwind of water and hurricane wind. Spooky! Fortunately, the damage was only to the garden plants and garden furniture: there was no personal injury at home. Life continues to pass, and with the rise of temperatures your garden has been filled with beautiful flowers. Jacinto perfumes with his wonderful smell all his garden, I love it. The basket of flowers is so beautiful that I only do soreir for its lovely flowers. The climate in my country house is changing: you are with a radiant sun and a blue sky and suddenly it begins to blow air, lowers the temperature many degrees, the sky turns dark gray, the air a gale and rains like the Deluge Universal or hail pieces the size of a golf ball. And that happens in Summer. In spring 3 years ago, the end of May snowed. Good weekend. Greetings from Margarita.

    • We have hail stones too at almost any time of year. Sometimes they are as large as gold balls here too, then everyone rushes to move their cars so they aren’t damaged.

  5. I moved to the Texas Gulf Coast from the snowy north and never expected the extreme fluctuations in weather here. I have been complaining about a hard freeze in my blog, but we have experienced water rationing drought to severe flooding last year. I have been impacted by numerous hurricanes, the most recent being Rita in ’05 and Ike in ’08. We are inland, but were still impacted by trees down, roofs blown off and two weeks without electric. But, the scariest is tornadoes and so far the closest have been several blocks away and have not hit our home.

  6. Besides the damage, I always end up feeling a little ‘unsettled’ by too much wind. I don’t like working outside and I don’t like the sound of it always battering the house. Glad to hear your weather’s taken a change for the better (and I hope it stays) -although too hot at this time of year is no treat either when it rushes everything along.
    I’m sure your friends will love the arrangement!

    • I always hate wind Frank, whether it’s the cold wind from the north or the hot wind coming from the sea (west); the tornado is quite rare here but terrifying when it happens.

  7. Oh Christina that sounds rather nasty and and as if it came out of nowhere. Did your little cold frame remain intact? Violent weather is unusual in our neck of the woods although storm ‘Doris’ certainly made an impact only recently, felling trees throughout the town and causing structural damage too. I think that it’s a contest between wind and thunderstorms when it comes to what sort of weather I dislike the most.

    • The little coldframe already blew completely off the plants a couple of weeks ago; since then I keep it open (the weather has been OK to do that for the plants that are in it) so no damage done. I hope that when I put the shade netting on it, the holes will mean it doesn’t blow away. Also I’ll be putting it on the soil then and should be able to hold it down a bit.

  8. I hate wind. Rain is much needed most of the time but we can obviously have it in excess! You’ve reminded me that I spotted a euphorbia when up on the bank yesterday, blown almost clean out of the ground. I must go up there again and reseat it.

  9. Ooh, lucky friend to receive that lovely bouquet! Nice to see your arrangements again. 🙂 It has been windy here, too, along with frigid temps, bringing the windchill down below zero F. Yucky! Winter is hanging on, it seems!

  10. Yikes, Christina! I’m glad your garden fared as well as it did during that storm! We had one rainstorm that seemed almost that bad but the rain seems to be over now. The heat is on here. Our temperatures climbed into the mid 80sF (29C) and this weekend is expected to be warmer still, creeping up near 90F (32C) with exceptionally low humidity. I’m already drawing heavily on my rain collection tanks.

    • Our temperatures are still fluctuating and the wind is back from the north today so cold! It will be interesting to see the effect the early rain has on your garden; last year I think my plants suffered more in summer because they put on more early growth which they couldn’t sustain.

  11. I do hope you are having a more settled weekend, Christina! Wind is incredibly unsettling – it has an effect on the mood as well as what’s going on in the garden. Your spring bouquet is gorgeous, as Eliza says: Lucky friend. Lovely to see your garden coming to life again.

  12. Scary weather report. Hope the winds calm. Enjoyed your scenes of flowers around the garden. I too planted more hyacinths this year. Hope they survive the next few frigid days. Your basket arrangement is stellar.

  13. A good post and lovely pictures. It seems that the weather generally is getting more extreme, which is not good news.
    My plot is out in the middle of an fairly exposed site so high winds can be a problem. Heavy and/or prolonged rain often causes some water-logging which has become more noticeable in the ten years I’ve had the plot. xx

    • Even though there are trees planted as a shelter belt the wind comes from all directions here so it is almost impossible to keep some open views and protect from the wind and when it is this strong the shelter belt isn’t 100% effective. Water-logging is a bad problem to have on an allotment. What is your soil – clay?

      • I sympathise as high winds can cause so much damage. Thankfully although parts of my plot do get very soggy at times it hasn’t yet become water-logged. Yes, it’s clay. xx

  14. Ooh, that last photo is gorgeous! So March was in like a roaring angry lion then? Thank goodness you had no serious damage. We are always worried we might lose a tree when it is stormy, but the weather I hate most is grey damp foggy weather in winter. This year hasn’t been too bad, with sunny days mixed in, but a few years ago we literally didn’t see the sun for months!

    • You’re right Cathy, as much as I hate strong winds, damp fog is much worse. We very rarely have fog although just a few miles away there is an area which seems to be foggy every day, so I suppose I’d choose the wind rather than fog.

      • When we moved to Italy I thought the weather would be more seasonal and I’d know what to expect when in reality it is just as changeable as the UK. Here it is extremes.

  15. Your spring flower basket looks so delightful Christina but that windy weather. Yuck. It is a feature of our weather now and I find it most disturbing. Noisy and damaging. We’ve had a lovely still mild Spring day today.

    • I hope you like the ‘Brown Sugar’; my chilled ones in the garden are flowering now sadly those that were planted several years ago have been eaten through just at ground level; mice I imagine, I’m crossing everything that they don’t find all the others.

  16. The white Anemones are very lovely. Glad there wasn’t too much damage from the wind. Our weather has also been changeable – a warm February followed by a mostly freezing March. Very inconvenient.

  17. Your basket of spring flowers from your garden is delightful. I am glad the wind did not disturb your beautiful garden too much. We are in tornado season here, and it always makes me nervous.

  18. Your post reminds me yet again that March is the month of extremes – lions and lambs in the same week, even on the same day. Certainly keeps us on our toes where the garden is concerned. But your bouquet is gorgeous – a welcome reminder of why it’s all worth the agony!

  19. Good grief, Christina, what an experience! You must have been so apprehensive venturing out afterwards, unsure what you might find. Thank goodness the damage was no worse – and what a joyfully abundant bouquet you were able to take to your hosts! Hopefully there will still be blooms for Monday’s vase 😉

    • Yes; when I was listening to the wind, I peered through the window to see the poor tulips spinning on their stems, the next morning even some of those still had thier petals, I have no idea how they stayed on!

  20. It must have been quite frightening being hit by wild winds like that. I hate wind & the hot winds we get really made the garden look exhausted. I love your basket of flowers & it’s good to know the wind didn’t destroy your spring flowers.

Leave a Reply

