In a vase on Monday – Blue period

Cathy at Rambling in the Garden is our host, she asks us to find flowers in our garden to put in a vase to enjoy in our homes each week.

This morning I knew I would pick Blue Larkspur, if I keep picking I am hoping it will continue to produce new flowers for a while, I love the intense blue and as these are self seeded plants I like that there are actually a mix of blues and some flowers are doubles.

In a vase on Monday

I used the smaller of the rectangular vases with two florists pins positioned to help support the stems.  In an ideal world I would have put a ribbon around the vase to hide the mechanics but there was no time as I had to take the car to the garage for a computer update.

Three Dutch Iris hidden at the back of a border are given an opportunity to be seen in the vase

Deep blue Larkspur and flowers from my small leaved Salvia with Cerinthe foliage

I was able to salvage some flowers from my Easter Monday vase; the Alliums that have been in the vase all week have faded to pale lilac but the ones picked today are much deeper in colour.

Alliums and one bearded Iris complete the arrangement

I also have a very small bunch of early flowering Sweet Peas in a vase in the kitchen; they are lovely but I probably wouldn’t grow them again.

Do visit Cathy to see some lovely vases today, or perhaps you can find a few flowers yourself and join in this very additive meme.

 

 

 

37 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – Blue period

    • I don’t have my usual camera so the little point and shoot has changed the blue green of the Cerinthe into bright green, but I do like to have lots of green in the vase in spring, it seems right somehow.

  1. It must be fascinating to see the different plants that come from your self seeded larkspur. I shall probably plant my seedlings out in about a fortnight or so. Yours work well with the iris and allium and cerinthe – and you are right about green and blue combos in spring. Sorry you didn’t feel the sweet peas were worth the effort, but at least you tried them

    • I think the truth is I’m just not good with Sweet Peas – I’ve never grown them successfully. That said, of course, they have only just started to flower and if they has been sown in autumn rather than spring they might have more time to flower before it gets too hot in the greenhouse. Last year the Larkspur didn’t grow as well as they were quite small when I planted them out. I haven’t planted out most of my plants for cutting yet as it has been so cold, some will be better sized plants because of that others will just be straggly.

      • Don’t write yourself off with the sweet peas – but on the other hand don’t feel you have to grow them because other people do. I potted on some of my seedlings this afternoon but there are many others that would probably benefit too but I have so little space in the greenhouses and don’t want to shift anything else outside just yet. Will have to compromise somehow!

  2. I love your vase of blue flowers, Christina! I find myself adding more and more blue to my own garden – no matter where I put it, it never jars me the way other colors sometimes do. I adore Delphinium but, like tulips, they don’t do well with our dry conditions or strong winds here.

    • Larkspur (Consolida)may be tougher in poor soils. I don’t think Delphiniuma would grow at all well in my poor soil but with irrigation Larkspur seem to do OK, these when through our cold winter this year and obviously grew to make seed last year. Because they aren’t as tall as Delphiniums they haven’t suffered in the wind so far.

  3. Christina her vase in blue tones is wonderful. All the flowers are beautiful and using the Cerinthe as foliage is very beautiful. I especially like the Blue Larkspur and the Dutch Iris. The Allium of the Easter Vase is splendid. Thank you very much for encouraging me with your beautiful vase. Greetings from Margarita.

      • Christina the Cerinthe major grows wild in Spain, in the Mediterranean area. It has a beautiful bloom: together a purple flower and a yellow gold. The Cerinthe that you have is not if it will grow wild too, but in the garden nurseries there is. I hope I have helped you with your doubt. Greetings from Margarita.

  4. I like your all blue, pastel vase, Christina, such a nice potpourri. Cerinthe major is common in mediterranean regions. You’ve done a lovely job on combining all these different shapes and textures.

    • Cerinthe should grow well for you Susie. I’ve found that the seeds I’ve sown have been quite weak plants but they selfseed freely and those plants are much stronger. I have masses this year so they keep appearing as the foliage in my vases. A plus is that the seeds set very quickly (even in the time they’re in a vase) so you can quickly remove the parent plants when they stop looking good.

  5. Eliza hit the nail on the head, Christina – it’s like a dream meadow! I really enjoyed your very wide glass container – don’t think it really needed disguising – the stems give even more of a meadow effect? Those blues, especially the adorable larkspur, are so sparkling. I also have battled with sweet peas here – too dry and hot – I plant them further and further down the garden, where it’s cooler and am beginning to have some success. As for my cut flowers – the patch is ready, hardly anything is sown! I hope I’ll have something to share this year. Looking forward to hearing that yours have been planted out and that we can enjoy some more delightful vases.

    • I just wanted to hide the pins that help the taller flowers stay upright. Have you tried the new winter/spring sweet peas Cathy, they grow and flower in lower light conditions. In the UK they plant them in a greenhouse but I think you could grow them outside and just have early flowers before the heat sets in.

      • I have been watching your back and forth with Cathy about those sweet peas with interest. I may try! It did go down to nearly -20 C here this winter, so sometimes I could be disappointed, but when my new greenhouse goes up it would be worth it! They come from Owl Acre, don’t they?

    • When I started the vase I was aiming at something more sophisticated but as I added flowers it changed and in the end I just went with that. I added even more Larkspur from the Easter vase after I took the photographs.

  6. I have two huge pots of sweet peas, plus bamboo tepees for them to climb, in the conservatory,- I fall over them regularly- as the weather is v cold, tho sunny. They are not easy, I agree, and don’t fit easily into the garden either.

    • Hi Linda, are you growing these new early flowering varieties or the usual. I have to admist that I’ve never grown sweat peas really successfully but I do love their perfume; and a simple posy of them gives me as much pleasure as a grand arrangement. It’s still quite cold here (I have the heating on in the mornings again).

    • It’s so long ago that I planted them, but I think they were Purple Sensation. In the dark of the room, the colours have faded completely now, they look almost white!

Leave a Reply

