Tuesday View – May 16th 2017

I’m linking with Cathy at Words and Herbs for the weekly View of one part of the garden.

Today you can see by the photographs that it is now hot even with a cooling wind from the north east (today the wind makes it pleasant to be outside when only a week ago the same wind would send me scurrying for a fleece.  The sun is much higher in the sky and it is warm earlier in the day; I’ve already started getting up earlier so I can be outside by 8am.

Tuesday view 16th May

Sadly the Irises are coming to an end, but some are still producing new blooms; it has been a very good year for the Irises; I’ve enjoyed them very much.

Dwarf gladioli ‘The Bride’

The early summer bulbs are flowering including Dwarf gladioli ‘The Bride’ and Allium christophii.  White and crimson Lichnis are flowering all around the garden, filling many spaces and adding dots of colour.

Allium christophii

New pink Phlomis

I dug out the huge yellow-flowered Phlomis suffruticosa because I found a pink Phlomis that I have been looking for almost since I started the garden.  It has changed the views around the Large Island but hopefully it will settle in quickly and fill the space.

Will you share a view with us this week.

 

 

27 thoughts on “Tuesday View – May 16th 2017

  1. Christina can feel the heat in the atmosphere in the wonderful photos. All the plants are magnificent and have continued to grow. The Cypress surrounded by Romero and in the background the Rose “Clair Matin” climbing in a beautiful set. Rosa Phlomis with yellow flowers did not know her but she is very pretty. I’m afraid I can not share any insights this week for a while. I am in Madrid and they are going to operate to my Father. We still do not know the day of the operation but it will be very soon and will notify you a few days in advance. We’ll take a three-day getaway to the lodge to put the drip irrigation safer this week. And here in Madrid until they operate on my Father and then recover completely. Excuse me for extending me so much with my particular things. Your garden is divine and full of life. Do not be too hot. Happy week. Greetings from Margarita.

      • Many thanks, Christina. Love is needed. The operation is complicated and high risk, but everything will turn out well. My Father says that he is eager to return to the country house after the operation to take walks on the mountain accompanied by my Mother and me. And we will do it. Thanks again Christina. Greetings from Margarita.

  2. At first glance it did seem the garden might be much warmer this week. You irises have been wonderful this year and have lasted longer than those in my garden.

  3. It does look hot even through your photos Christina. How lovely to see Lychnis already! I am enjoying the silvery foliage at the moment. And that blue sky is always a joy to see! Have a good week! 🙂

    • I’m afraid it is a bit of an invasive weed here and so I’m much happier with the pink variety which I have reason to believe isn’t so good at setting seed.

  4. Oh I do look forward to seeing your phlomis settle in and perform! I have never liked the P suffruticosa (too yellow!) but coveted P tuberosa when I first came across it – I have tried growing it from seed but none have germinated (will hang onto them, just in case) yet although I bought a small plant as well anyway 🙂

  5. Around here, it is still jacket on, jacket off, rain gear on, rain gear off. We’re promised a warming trend soon. On the upside, we can still look forward to the progression of Irises, which have usually played their part and left the stage by now.

  6. I’ve got Phlomis purpurea, is yours the same? They’re more delicate with the cold though. I’ve taken cuttings of a Phlomis fruticosa in the garden of friends and it’s the variety Edward Bowles which has nicer leaves and flowers a second time later in summer. Lovely combination of texture and form in your borders, well done.

    • It didn’t actually have a label Annette! I have already taken some cuttings and will take more as it grows; friends have had one in their garden for many years but they hadn’t managed to strike any cuttings and they haven’t found any seedlings, have you?

      • plenty of seedlings of P. fruticosa but haven’t seen any of P. purpurea and the P. f. variety. I just love them, more for their foliage and seedheads but P. purpurea is quite tender, luckily it’s vigorous and usually makes new shoots quickly

  7. Hot here, too. and very humid. Summer is my least favorite season, and it has definitely arrived. Your garden is a delight and seems to be adapted well to your climate.

    • Hi Steve, I’m on the UK for Chelsea. Back to base tomorrow, I’ll put up a quick GBFD post on Friday and I’ll give a link in my post to yours. Thank you for joining in this month. Apologies for my absence this month.

Leave a Reply

