In a Vase on Monday – Summer Pickings

If it was too hot to think last Monday, today it is too hot to even think that?  At 7.30 the sun was already burning down; luckily the flowers were picked yesterday so I do have vases to enjoy and share with Cathy at Rambling in the Garden.

When I checked the thermometer in the green house this morning it showed the high yesterday as 42°C; that’s with all the windows open and shade netting on the outside (but not the front).  This year is certainly proving to be one of extremes – a very cold dry winter followed by no spring at all, then, wham! just as Chelsea flower flower took place it became summer here.

The heat combined with water from the irrigation means that everything in the cut flower beds is growing quickly.  This week as you can see I have various Dahlias taking centre stage.

In a vase on Monday 12th June

I used my medium sized rectangular vase for this week’s arrangement, using masses of a short white Dahlia that often gets forgotten but that forms the basis of this vase.  I then added the larger blooms (but not longer stems of other Dahlias that are flowering now; the very dark ones are so dark they suck out the light and become almost invisible.

Dahlias are the stars of the cut flower border now

There are still lots of Larkspur so they were also added for vertical accents.

Orlaya grandiflora I think as I mixed the Ami’s and Orlaya together in the beds

If this is the Orlaya I definitely like its form more than either of the Ami’s; I will grow more if the seed will germinate in the extreme heat.

A different Rudbeckia is flowering now and Cosmos

I didn’t sow any Cosmos this year and the early self-seeders were killed by the late frost but there was plenty more seed in the ground so there is a large parch of them; much stronger plants than when I sow them.

More Orlaya grandiflora and Alstroemeria

I love Alstroemerias and am very disappointed that I failed to buy more plants as I had intended but the nursery wasn’t as helpful as I’d been told and they failed to respond to my emails.  This short (no ID)  variety has been in the cutting beds since the beginning and produce a good amount of flowers which usually last very well in a vase.

Alstroemeria

Alstroemeria

Do visit Cathy to see what she has fund in her garden today and vases from around the world.

27 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – Summer Pickings

  1. Oh what abundance, Christina! I especially like the dark purply pink frilly dahlias – what are they? And I must grow orlaya again – I remember it being much easier to grow, although fairly short lived. My A visnaga didn’t germinate this year so I have nothing like that unless some have self seeded. Thanks for sharing your rich vase and I do hope the sun’s thermostat is turned down a little soon, for your comfort and that of the garden

  2. I converted your temperature and wow, that is hot. I guess I won’t complain when we reach the low 100’s. Your flowers are beautiful in that heat, ours tend to “sleep” during the summer.

  3. Gorgeous, such rich colours and you have dahlias in bloom already. Such pretty ones too. I am very fond of alstroemerias although I have never picked them until today.

    • It really feels like high summer here Liz. But the Dahlias usually start flowering about now. I leave them in the ground all winter and mulch them heavily. This year with the late frost they all turned black and I worried they would die but are actually looking very healthy now.

  4. 42C!!! I was shocked to see that and worried for both you and your garden. The 106F (41C) figure we experienced on the first day of summer last year set my garden back for the season – I very much hope that your garden is better equipped than ours was to handle those high temperatures. Your dahlias are lovely, and substantially ahead of mine. I’m adding Orlaya to larkspur on the list of seeds I need to plant next year – if they stand up in your climate, maybe I have a chance of growing them here too.

    I hope you find relief from the heat soon. Unfortunately, our June Gloom is on it’s way out so we expect to heat up later this week as well.

    • The 42 degrees was in the greenhouse, the garden is still about 8 degrees cooler than that. All the plants on the garden looked stressed because there was no winter or spring rain. I only irrigate the vegetables and cut flower borders. Usually June temperatures are in the mid to maybe high 20’s with it warming up in July and August. Even my Hemerocallis have small flowers this year!!!

  5. Christina two beautiful vases and full of color. The dark red dahlia is beautiful. I love the Orlaya. The Alstroemeria is very pretty. The bouquets bloom. Here in Madrid yesterday we had 40º C and it was 12 o’clock at night and we were at 37º C. Today is hotter. It is unbearable. Do not be too hot Christina. Greetings from Margarita.

  6. Beautiful! The dark dahlia is really striking, but I think I love your Alstroemerias most of all this week! Those temperatures are ery high for somearly on in the summer. Hope you at least get a nice breeze to bring some relief.

  7. I love the mixture of colors with the darker Dahlias and Cosmos. Orlaya is a plant I have never seen before. I want some, it is so pretty. I am amazed it is so hot there! It is cooler in South Florida, I have been working in the garden all morning. I read your bee post below – thank you very interesting and I have learned to watch out for the Neo.. labeled plants.

    • We’re surprised by the temperatures too! I don’t think it has been so hot at the end of May and into June since we moved here in 2003. The Orlayer was easy from seed, I think it is very pretty too, I’ll have to wait to see how much it continues to produce flowers as the season goes on.

Leave a Reply

