Cut flower beds in June

We are nearly at the end of June and I haven’t yet written about the cut flower beds this year.  Of course you’ve seen the results of what is growing in my Monday vases but it is good to share what the beds look like.

The first bed for cut flowers was a long bed near the greenhouse, that has some Dahlias including the very ones ones I planted in 2014, those first two aren’t flowering yet but the white ones I planted in 2015 have been flowering for a few weeks.  There are also some new ones planted this year but they are very small; I bought them early but then I didn’t plant them because it was cold; with hindsight I should have potted them up in the greenhouse and then planted them out as strong growing plants instead they were rather shrivelled tubers planted in late April, we will have to wait to see if they will produce any flowers this year.

All of the Cosmos you can see (and there are far too many of them self seeded from last year’s flowers

About a third of the bed is devoted to Dahlias with these Aster Monch squeezed in

I also planted Dill in this bed and in the secret garden; I like it and will try some direct sown as I think they will be stronger.

Chrysanthemums – these survive all year in the ground but they take up a lot of space for a very short flowering period, I will probably remove all but the green flowered ones that I find very useful

Some of the Chrysanthemums already have buds which means they may flower when I have lots of other things to choose from and be finished when they might be useful.

Moving to the secret garden beds.

Self seeded Larkspur and Cleome (from saved seeds)

I will keep this patch for Larkspur if they self seed for me again this year although I may restrict how much space they have.

White Gomphrena glubosa

Gomphrena glubosa are new for this year, I like their shape and the effect they give in a vase.

The Dahlia bed invaded by Verbena bonariensis with seed sown Dahlias at the front of the border

A Rudbeckia remains from last year and has masses of flowers; there is also some Nicotiana Lime Green squeezed into the bed.

Zinnias with a couple of self seeded sunflowers that should probably be removed

It is hard to believe that all the dahlias were blackened by frost in the last week of April

This is the two tone Dahlia I showed on Monday and several of you asked the name.  Looking at my list and checking images on-line I think it is D. Colour Spectacle.

A new bench replaces the over large table

When the Trachelospurnum has fully grown behind the new bench this area will be a haven of colour hidden from the rest of the garden.

Verbena bonariensis in the Dahlia bed

Last year the plants were more ordered in the bed; but I have allowed the Verbena to grow where it chooses as it doesn’t need to be on a line of irrigation tube it adds exuberance to the bed.  I’ve also fitted in Nicotiana Lime Green into spaces between the Dahlias.  I am surprised that I like the rather disordered look this bed now has.  It may make the secret garden cut flower beds feel more like a garden.

Here’s a second vase of flowers picked on Monday.

This was a second vase created on Monday with surplus blooms. I also made a hand held bouquet to give to a friend yesterday and I have more flowers conditioning for another gift later today

 

20 thoughts on “Cut flower beds in June

  1. Thank you, what a treat to see your cutting garden. Your secret garden has established very quickly, it all looks wonderful. I love the gomphrena, mine all got eaten by slugs.

  2. I am very jealous of your dill. Mine starts to flower too early and then dies away. Perhaps I need to put down more seeds. I find some plants like lots of space and others like to be more squashed together. Amelia

  3. Great seeing your cutting beds filled with variety and color. I like the Larkspur and Cleome combination and all the dahlias. The Gomphrena is looking great.

  4. I just saw a pretty pink gomphrena on another blog, but the white one is lovely too. Your secret garden will look lovely when it is more enclosed. The larkspur is a real star!

  5. That last photo is especially lovely Christina but it is also good to see how your cutting beds are doing – they are so green compared to the rest of the garden but presumably it is still too hot for you to enjoy them. Hope your dahlias are performing properly soon. I really love the mix of blooms in my cutting beds although I don’t get much self seeding like you do

  6. You do have some fine cut flowers. I like the Larkspur, Gomphrena, and Cleome. As for self-sowers, I’d rather have them and edit out the ones I don’t want than not have them at all.

  7. Your cutting garden puts my 3 raised planters to shame, Christina. I think I need to add something along the lines of the plastic netting you have above your planting beds to aid my seedlings in growing straight – I came home from a garden tour of the eastern US to find my some of sunflowers were already listing badly. I think my dahlia tubers should have been planted earlier as well – I put them in the ground as soon as the provider shipped them (months after my order was placed) but I think they could have benefited from more time in the ground before the temperatures got toasty here. The provider’s location in the Pacific Northwest and mine in Southern California probably call for different planting schedules.

    • The netting works really well Kris; I just tie it to bamboo. Once the plans grow it is more or less invisible (although that doesn’t matter so much in the cut flower borders). Buying plants from different states must be a big problem for you; I sometimes buy from the UK and obviously growing times are different there but not as much as from north to south in the US. I only have myself to blame for my dahlias so at least I have learned a lesson.

  8. Thank you Christina for showing us her garden of cut beds from where these beautiful flowers come out of the vases. It is your personal “factory” of dreams and fragrances. Greetings from Margarita.

  9. I can’t wait to see the secret garden become more and more enclosed and private, it will be such a difference and just another part of your garden which continues to go through an amazing transformation. I feel foolish that I can’t even finish a tiny bed with just a few shrubs!
    I’m sure your dahlias will work out fine. I don’t know what your heat does to them but here I still have a few tubers to plant and I’m sure they’ll come along fine. They were set aside as extras but after all our spring rains the early plantings have rotted and now need replacing.

Leave a Reply

