In a vase on Monday – Zinnias and Dahlias, Stalwarts of the cut flower beds

Where would I be without Zinnias and Dahlias in the cut flower beds to provide me with cut flowers from June until the first frosts which could be as late as November; in fact I’m more likely to pull the Zinnias out because the foliage has become so scruffy before they actually stop flowering.  What is really surprising to me is that I had never grown either until I started growing flowers to cut for the house.

In a vase on Monday

The Bells of Ireland were self seeded from last year, when the flower stems were never really long enough to pick; I have also dried some this year, it would be wonderful if they would grow as I’ve seen them in florists, with long, long upright flower heads.

All three vases are a mix of pinks, white and green

I tried a lower design for the dining table but it didn’t really work

I taped the top of the vase to form a grid but the vase was too shallow for this to work.  There was more stem above the top of the vase so the weight tended to make the stems in the vase lift themselves out of the water.  I arranged this vase before the weekend but the flowers were all dead by this morning.  The other two vases were arranged this morning.

Love the colour and form of this Zinnia

and this

All these are white Zinnias except the bottom left

I find it intriguing that from one pack of seed (sometimes even from one plant) several different forms of flower appear.

Using different proportions of each colour gives the vases quite a different ‘look’

With thanks to our host Cathy at Rambling in the Garden who hosts this addictive meme.  Do visit to see her lovely vase today and many, many others from around the globe.

I also send my thoughts to our fellow bloggers in Texas who are being pounded the hurricane.

45 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – Zinnias and Dahlias, Stalwarts of the cut flower beds

  1. I agree dahlias and zinnias have become plants we can’t do without. Gorgeous for a vase. I love your arrangements and the Bells of Ireland and Gomphrena add a lovely touch. Gomphrena is definitely on the list for next year. I tried Gomphrena ‘ Strawberry Fields’ this year but the whole lot got eaten by slugs. How many different packets of zinnia seeds did you sow? I love all of them.

  2. Gorgeous arrangements, all. My favorite is the lower one–you got the proportions just right. Too bad the dish proved too shallow, but the design is lovely. Also love those white zinnias.

  3. I absolutely adore your dahlias and zinnias, but it was so cold until mid June my dahlias did not grow and neither did my zinnia from seed. I am going to try and jump start both indoors and put them in a grow bag I am repurposing for flowers. Of course it could have been squirrels or rabbits too that got to them. Your vases inspire me to keep trying to grow these! Gorgeous Christina!

    • Thanks Donna. Zinnias really don’t like the cold. Some of my first sowings died because I took them off the heated propagation tray too quickly; we had a cold early spring but then in mid-May the first wave of very hot weather arrived! Today the wind seems to be blowing directly off the Sahara into the garden.

  4. I don’t really have a cutting garden but I love both of the plants you are using and wish I had more room and sun to grow them. They make such great bouquets as you’ve demonstrated.

    • I have a cutting garden partly because it is so hot here most plants are summer dormant! Having my little oasis of colour helps me get through the hot, dry months. The beds have to be irrigated which I don’t usually do with the rest of the garden. This year has been so hot that I’ve had to water a lot of plants just to help them survive.

  5. Having thought pinching out would help, I am still not getting lots of flowers from my zinnias 😦 Any suggestions? You have a wonderful collection of them – and are the little white pompommy flowers zinnias too? The molucella look amazing even if they are bendy and not standing to attention!

  6. Christina I love your bouquets: they are magnificent. Zinnias are all beautiful in all their colors: I like white very much. The Dahlias are beautiful. The Bells of Ireland I love. No wonder you’re glad to be in the court beds watching so much beautiful flower. I join you in my best wishes that bloggers and all the people of Texas are safe and sound. Greetings from Margarita.

  7. Hi Christina, I love the arrangement you think was unsuccessful. The colors are striking and I love how casual it is. I love the white flowers, as well…Zinnias, I think, and another flower I’m not familiar with.

  8. I too have fallen in love with dahlias and zinnias since starting my own cutting garden (encouraged by the success you’d had with yours!). The Bells of Ireland and Gomphrena make great accents too. I’ve never seen white Gomphrena – did you grow those from seed?

    • Yes I grew the Gomphrena from seed, having seen you use the pink you used in your arrangements. They were very easy from seed so I’ll grow other colours too next year.

  9. They are a beautiful mix of colours and beautifully put together. It is sometimes very hard to get the right container and length of stem. I sowed bought ‘Lime Green’ Nicotiana this year. Some are white, some are green and some are pink!

    • How interesting that you like the smell of the Bells of Ireland, it is one reason that I’m debating about growing them again, as I find the smell mildly unpleasant.

Leave a Reply

