Tuesday View – beginning a new ‘view’

Cathy at Words and Herbs asks us to join her by posting one view each week so we can assess progress through the year.  Since she started the meme I’ve been posting a view of the Large Island looking towards the drive; however as that includes many evergreens the view doesn’t change as much as some other parts of the garden, so I’ve decided that as I will be working on improving the Left side border this winter it would be a better choice to share with you each week.

When I have some time I’ll search for some images to show how the border has changed since it was planted in May 2007, but for now let me introduce you to the border and the plants that are currently there.

Tuesday view 26th September 2017

A month ago almost everything that now looks green, looked dead or at least very unattractive.

Beautiful Pomegranates this year

The Pomegranate that was planted in May 2007 has thrived in the heat this year.  There isn’t as much fruit as we have sometimes had but what there is is very good!

Sedum September Charm’

As in other parts of the garden Sedum is a plant I depend on to look good for much of the year.  I want to take more (many more) cuttings next year so I can add them to the slope and extend the planting in other places.  BTW on Gardeners’ World last Friday Carol Kleine suggested that cuttings of Sedum could be done now; does anyone have any experience of taking Sedum cuttings now?  I did try a couple of years ago but wasn’t successful whereas cuttings taken in spring or summer are always easy and successful.

Sedum ‘Matrona’

Some weeding is needed; new seedlings of Acanthus mollis are beginning to show themselves!

More welcome seedlings of Cerrinthe

The recent rain has encouraged seeds to germinate around the whole garden including, of course, lots of weeds!

Acanthus mollis under the white Mulberry

Perovskia

I intend leaving the Perovskia, it is very drought tolerant but does actually flower better when there is some water.

There are irrigation tubes laid in the border but I haven’t been using them.  This year I watered using a hose.  I only watered the plants that looked very stressed but plants like the Salvia, below, and Echinacea and a pink flowered, green-leaved Phlomis didn’t flower at all in August and continued to be extremely stressed despite my efforts to revive them.

Salvia ‘Indigo Spires’

I took some cuttings of the Salvia before going to England on 9th September and they were rooted by my return less than a week later.  I will plant some in the cut-flower beds.

I planted the Pampass Grass last autumn and look forward to it making a statement with its plumes maybe next year.

Melia, Choisya ternata with under planting of Agapanthus.

The Agapanthus have been slowly creeping forward out of the shade created by the fast growing Melia.  I intend dividing them this autumn as there weren’t many flowers this year.  I also recently heard that Agapanthus need a lot of nutrients so they are strange in that they are supposed to like being congested but are also quite hungry plants – this strikes me as a rather strange combination.

Choisia ternata is flowering

The hedge behind the border is mostly Bay (Laurus nobilis); a small section is what the English confusingly call Laurel but is in fact Prunus laurocerasus ‘Rotundifolia’; for some reason there is a lot of die-back on the Prunus so I will remove it and re-plant with more Laurus nobilis and add some wind netting behind it to help protect it from the biting North wind in winter and also give some privacy from the field planted with Broccoli.

Looking back from the end of the border

The border was widened considerably two years ago when I re-designed the the central beds; I feel that there isn’t enough variation of height and I would prefer more sustainable planting that looks good in summer.  At the moment I am planning lavender, Teucrium (already planted with small cuttings 2 years ago), Santolina and possibly other silver foliage plants.

Do you have any suggestions?  I’m always happy to have some input from my readers.

Sorry this was a bit long for a Tuesday view post; do visit Cathy to see how here view is changing with autumn.

 

29 thoughts on “Tuesday View – beginning a new ‘view’

      • I think the tree may be takes most of the nutrients. I don’t know about comfrey tea, I am not familiar with it. The only nutrients I use in my garden is dried cow dung pellets and compost made in my garden.

  1. I like your under planting of the Melia. I hesitate to plant too near trees for fear of insufficient water but that has worked so well. I too would like to increase my sedum. A friend gave me sedums that she had split after the flowers had finished and that worked very well. I intend to do the same this year. Amelia

  2. Agapanthus does well here with relatively little water once established so I suspect it might work well for you too, as Gwennie suggested. Have you ever tried Leucadendron or Grevillea? Or is it too cold in winter for those plants in your area? They’re my go-to plants for dry conditions and I couldn’t help thinking what a lovely combination one or the other might make with that beautiful pomegranate. Now you have me thinking I need a pomegranate…

    • I have a Grevillea but not many varieties are hardy. The one I have survived with no problems in our cold winter last year (minus 10 degrees Centigrade), I’d be willing to try other varieties but I’ve never seen them for sale. The Agapanthus I have was planted in 2007, they have spread but I’m disappointed with the number of flowers. I will definitely split them and try feeding them. I also have white ones in a pot that I collected seed from last year and have a dozen or so little plants which I’ll try planting out next spring.

  3. Hi Christina, I always enjoy views of your garden, and I look forward to seeing progress of this area. I am glad to hear you are planting more lavender! I always loved your lavender parterres and was sad when you took them out, though I understand your reasons and know your garden is even better now!

  4. There will be plenty to watch as the seasons change. Does your Melia flower well for you? It is a lovely focal point in that border and I love the foliage too. In fact you already have some lovely plants there and I am amazed at all your seedlings! I have never tried taking sedum cuttings, but really should as I rely on them a lot here too. I really look forward to following your work on this view during the winter Christina! 🙂

  5. There aren’t many plants that will grow in both our gardens but apparently Sedum ‘Matronna’ is one! How I would love to have a pomegranate tree! I had fresh pomegranate juice in Turkey once and almost swooned because it was so delicious.

  6. I think your new view is going to be exciting to follow. Isn’t this where you have many of your tulips and anemones as well? I always love seeing them in bloom.
    You have quite a few goodies there, sorry I have no suggestions for varying the height!

Leave a Reply

