In a Vase on Monday – Generous

As always Monday brings the opportunity to create a vase from flowers in our own gardens.  I am lucky that on this last Monday in October there is still plenty of choice for my vases and enough for bouquets to give as gifts.

Again I have enough different white flowers to fill my silver vase.

The small white Chrysanthemums were the starting point for this vase

Yellow centred Chrysanthemum is the first to flower this year, there is also a stem of a larger flowered variety

I’ve lost the labels of all the Dahlias so I don’t have any ID’s

The two white Dahlias are planted very closely together and this one has only just begun to flower (I think)

I was very surprised that the Chrysanthemums survived outside in the ground last winter; the temperatures dipped to about minus 10°C for many nights; but the ground was dry so they seemed not to mind at all – there is some advantage in not having water retentive soil!

Orange Dahlias, Zinnias and a barely opened orange Chrysanthemum join Leonotis in my second vase

I may have mentioned that all the Chrysanthemums were purchased as pot plants sold for All Saints Day (1st November).  They are taken to cemeteries; most Italians won’t have them in their housed which mean that on Thursday all those not sold will be offered at greatly reduced prices. Of course there are never any names of the varieties on these pots.

A hand tied bouquet taken to my hostess on Saturday evening

You can’t see them all but there are about 18 stems of Zinnia in my bouquet.  I was very pleased with this as it was very stable and balanced; which is not always the case with my bouquets.

Sedum, Salvia, Pennisetum Karlie but mainly just amass of Zinnias with silvery foliage

Do visit our host Cathy at Rambling in the garden to see what all the vases-fillers around the world have found for their vases today.

Have a lovely gardening week.

 

42 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – Generous

  1. All of your vases are amazing. Great job on the design. The second one carries a fine sense of balance and airiness. You definitely have mastered the hand-tied bouquet–how lovely to share your bounty this way. I love white flowers and those white dahlias are especially eye-catching. Have a great week Christina!

  2. Thanks for that little lesson in how different groups remember a day devoted to those who are gone. Your bouquets are lovely but I must remember your clever way of transporting a gift bouquet. It looks like there is water right in the cellophane wrapping. . .

    • In the UK florists use this kind of cellophane for what they call ‘hostess’ bouquets. The intention is the your hostess doesn’t have to spend time finding a vase and arranging flowers when she is in the middle of preparing dinner. The flowers can be left like this as if it’s done properly (I don’t always manage it) the stems will all be the correct length to balance the flowers.

  3. A perfect name for your vases Christina, generous. I love all the white flowers especially the little Chrysanthemums. And oh my all those colorful dahlias and amazing zinnias. A feast for my eyes.

    Donna@GardensEyeView

  4. Your arrangements are all stunning! Your information about mums and death had me searching the web. The significance of various flowers in different cultures is very interesting; seems that the language of flowers is alive and well.

    • I love Zinnias; I really wouldn’t want to be without them for vases and I’m almost definitely going to grow shorter ones for pots next summer, as long as you dead-head they produce so many blooms.

  5. What a bounty your garden is producing, Christina! You appear to be experiencing the autumn bounce in blooms I’ve been hoping for here. As much as I love color, I do admire all those beautiful white blooms you have. I’ve had a surprising lack of white blooms in my own garden this year, something I plant to remedy now that the weather finally seems to be cooling enough to get on with fall planting.

  6. Gosh, Christina – can you come for dinner and bring a bouquet like that to me? Seriously lovely vases this week – and the silver vase is, as previously, a stunner. Interesting what you say about the cheap chrysanths after All Saints. Perhaps I should be checking out Aldi and Lidl on Thursday, because we have the same situation here. I think there’s more than one advantage to well-drained soil. My zinnias were lovely, but heavy rainfall seems to have stopped them in their tracks before their time.

    • Lovely to hear from you Cathy. I’m not sure if the Chrysanthemums would survive your winters in wet soil, but basal cuttings take very easily and grow on quickly once planted out. Zinnia and Dahlia are dependant on the temperature rather than light levels to stimulate flowering; mine will be coming to an abrupt end soon as temperature have dropped this week.

    • Until this week it hasn’t been cold at all so blooms depending on temperature like Zinnia and Dahlia were flowering just as in summer; this week the temperatures have dropped dramatically so I know the flowering will slow down now.

  7. They are all beautiful arrangements – your lucky hostess to receive such a gorgeous bouquet! I especially like the first one with those exquisite Chrysanths. I wonder if you will get a bargain pot again this year? They are popular for graves here too, but mostly people buy ugly (and horrendously expensive) wreaths with evergreens and ribbons etc!

    • They are on the cut flower beds, rather squashed together. I’m not sure they are worth the space they take up all year but it does mean there is something different to pick in November

  8. Christina the silver vase with the white flowers is divine, especially the Dahlias with that pure white are beautiful. The second glass vase with colorful flowers is wonderful, the orange Dahlias are pretty. The Bouquet to give to your hostess is exceptional. So many Zinnias and more flowers, with the silver filling and cellophane wrapped in the florist’s shop: a work of art. Happy week of gardening Greetings from Margarita.

Leave a Reply

