Tuesday View – a little touch of autumn 31st October 2017

The weather has changed; there is now only a few hours in the afternoon when it is warm and pleasant; in the mornings there is a nip in the air.  The light has changed.  There is even a little autumn colour in the garden caused by the warmish days and cold nights.  

This morning was cloudy and the pomegranate didn’t glow as it did later in the day

Looking along the Left hand path

These Sedum, are the ones that had bright pink flowers, they are over now and the foliage has even turned yellow, I don’t remember that happening in other years

Sedum Matrona just a few steps away hasn’t changed colour at all, in fact the flowers hardly look as if they have opened yet.

The Tuesday view, taken from a little further back standing on the terrace

and from where I usually stand

The leaves on the white mulberry are also beginning to fall without a very noticeable change in colour first

I’m not sure if Cathy at Words and Herbs will be posting today my link is to her post last week.  Do check it out if you missed it then.

Have a good week; I hope you are all enjoying a little colour in your gardens this week.

43 thoughts on “Tuesday View – a little touch of autumn 31st October 2017

  1. Your garden still looks lovely and I saw your vase on Monday, looks like you still have quite a bit of blooms. We haven’t had frost yet but the nights are cold and the garden looks sad now.

  2. Hi Christina. Sorry, no post from me today. We had frost last night, and it is a holiday today here too, as well as tomorrow! We are getting an extra holiday this year (Reformation Day) for the 500th anniversary of Luther. Your view is glowing this week. Lovely colours!

  3. I love all the buttery yellow tones of your foliage, Christina. We’re a lot cooler this week and even had a bit of drizzle this morning but I don’t think we’re going to get much in the way of autumn color, unless brown counts! I’ve got my fingers tightly crossed that we get our first real rain of the season this coming weekend.

    • Yellow is the only colour I really have. The pomegranate always glows buttery yellow and the Melia also usually shows some colour before the foliage drops, I’ve planted a couple more Cotinus in the hope they will give some red, which since they’ve been in pots during the summer and have therefor been watered do have good colour this year but now they’re in the ground I’m not so sure that will continue.

  4. Your pomegranate is certainly glowing in the sun, contrasting beautifully with all your silver plants. Frost has still to arrive here, but it is much colder here at night time now, the days are still nice and warm though, once the sun comes out!

  5. One thing that I have overlooked in your previous posts and something of which I took notice today are the lovely gravel paths in your garden. They are marvelous and indicate work to keep them tidy. I know they have been there all along. One sometimes has to look down instead of up or miss the beauty.

  6. Something I have overlooked in your previous garden photos and which I really “saw” today are the lovely gravel paths in your garden. Sometimes we have to look down to see the beauty.

  7. It is fascinating to note the subtle changes as autumn unfolds, Christina – the yellowing sedum is an odd phenomenon, and as others have said it seems to be all about yellow and silver in your garden. After our 2 degrees on Sunday night, overnight temperatures are back up again, although still single figures but a little warmer than yours

  8. Greys and yellows, as Cathy says above. Such an interesting difference in your autumn colour. I’m also thinking about planting a Cotinus, because I have some really dry areas where other plantings have died. It’s supposed to be good … lovely pictures Christina.

  9. It is lovely to see your golden pomegranate tree glowing in the landscape. I am growing one in a pot and it has just dropped its leaves without a colour change this last week. The white mulberry is a lovely shape and shows off the bark so well.

  10. I hope my pomegranate looks like that some day! I have just dug it out from under the spring weeds. Liquidambers are the only thing I have for real Autumn colour, and I’m hoping I don’t regret planting them. I have seen some lovely small trees which I think are Parrotia persica ‘Persian Witch Hazel’ – they colour up very nicely with large bright red and orange leaves.

    • Parrotia persica is a lovely tree but it grows quite large and spreads very wide and I think it needs acid soil. I don’t think my husband will agree to taking the walnuts out so I’m wasting my time even considering it.

      • Oh no, I would never take a walnut tree out! It takes such a long time to get them to ‘nutting’ stage and the fresh nuts are so much better than shop ones. My friend lost a huge old walnut tree last year, she has gained a beautiful bowl made from the wood but we all miss the nuts 😦

        • But that’s why I left them, but the nuts are almost all black inside from some disease that many walnuts have around here. The main problem is that it poisons the soil stopping other plants from thriving.

  11. Seeing your pomegranate I’m thinking, gosh I should have included that too in my Top 10. I always love ours at this time of year. Your garden is looking beautiful, Christina, and I’ve just read at Cathy’s that you’re depressed. So sorry about that…I do hope you’ll be feeling better soon and no doubt your garden will help you get over it. Best wishes xx

  12. The golden tints of autumn are gorgeous in your garden, Christina! Your pomegranate is especially lovely. I appreciate some of the longer views showing the gravel paths.

  13. Christina your garden looks beautiful with certain autumnal tones. The Pomegranate is beautiful with its somewhat golden leaves glistening in the sun. I am glad that the temperatures are good and allow it to enjoy the garden. Have a nice week. Greetings from Margarita.

Leave a Reply

