Tulip Exotic Emperor

As promised I want to show you how my Vase on Monday tulips have opened.  I think it is always good to know how long flowers last in a vase and how they change; but don’t worry I won’t be doing this with every tulip I grow (well, probably not)!

As I explained on Monday, as soon as the bulbs arrived they were put in the fridge to chill; tulips need 14 to 20 weeks chilling at 4.4°C (40°F).  These tulips didn’t have as long as that and so took longer than the 3-4 weeks stated to flower.  These Tulip Exotic Emperor had about 8 weeks chilling in the fridge and then were planted into a large pot and placed in my frost free greenhouse; they would flower more quickly, I imagine, if they were in warmer temperature, also the greenhouse temperature fluctuates quite significantly from about 4°C at night to up to about 29°C on a sunny day.

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

The tulips were picked when the white colour was just showing (Sunday 31st January, above is how they are today, Friday 5th January.  They have been kept in a quite warm room but without full sun shining on them during the day.

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

Tulip Exotic Emperor

I am very pleased that the stems have remained straight so far and it will be interesting to see how long they remain straight.  I didn’t slit the stem under the flower-head as some sources recommend, it just seems wrong to me!

I’ll show what the vase looks like on Monday.

Have a lovely weekend; I hope the weather is kind and gives you an oportunity to be in your gardens.

 

41 thoughts on “Tulip Exotic Emperor

  1. Gorgeous tulips – I can’t believe they grow and flower so quickly once the fridge period is over. Not something we have to think about up here – we have a big fridge outside.

  2. Beautiful photographs Christina, we are currently enjoying a Spring like day, but as usual over here rain due Saturday, dry on Sunday. I hope you have a better forecast and a lovely weekend!

  3. Gosh – almost UNtulip like when they open! So pretty – and useful to get the lowdown on chilling times. I have to admit that I didn’t know tulips ‘needed’ a chilling time – do you think they are therefore more likely to reflower after a cold winter than a mild one, if they are grown in the ground?

    • In the ground Cathy, it is more a question of their not having any summer irrigation. All my tulips in the ground flower relatively late because they don’t get any chilling until late December or early January. This year I even chilled most of the ones I planted in the ground and they are the ones showing through the soil, while the existing ones aren’t through yet.

    • Tulips are one of the few flowers that continue to grow after being cut, slitting the stem is said to stop this happening; as I said I’ve never done this as I like the way tulips take on a life of their own in a vase.

  4. I shall try that tulip next spring. I love the colour and the shape. How lovely to have your own home grown tulips in February. I’m still getting paperwhite daffs here in the greenhouse. Amazing scent

  5. They look fantastic, I’ve admired them before in the catalogs, but in a vase together they look even better. If I recall correctly I may even have planted a similar tulip last fall… I guess I’ll see if mine look as nice.
    I remember you mentioning your cold treatment method last year and for a few moments I considered trying the same for my own potted tulips. Here the cold winter temperatures kill them off in pots, so a few for the porch would have been nice, but then decided to skip the additional project. Now I’m wishing I wasn’t so lazy.
    The catkins are a nice touch in the vase 🙂

    • I’m surprised the cold kills your tulips. You could maybe give them the cold treatment in autumn when your temperatures drop below 8°C but before it goes way below zero and then grow them on under the lights in your garage or on the porch it that’s closed in.

  6. They look lovely, and clearly last longer if cut at the right time. And yes, we had a bright and mild day yesterday and I did manage to get out into the garden for the first time to remove some of the leaves that cover my beds and rockery in winter… lots of tiny shoots are now peeping out! 😀

  7. I love the simplicity and delicacy of the massed tulips, and your photos really do them justice. I find that piercing each stem just below the flower head with a pin works well to keep stems straight, not that you seem to have any problems with that.

      • Last year I chilled tulips and tried to force them by placing them on pebbles. It was unwieldy trying to keep the water level just so and keep them from falling over. Your approach looks more manageable so maybe next year!

        • The cry all or us gardeners make “next year” but you do have to plan ahead to have the plants you want. You may be able to buy tulips ready chilled as I know Kris in LA has mentioned them.

Leave a Reply

