The Vegetable Garden in June

Time rushes on as it always does; crops come and finish and I haven’t written about what we’re eating for a while.

Broad beans and peas produced a decent crop, all I really want is some nice fresh vegetables that are different from the ones we’ve been eating; there were enough to freeze a couple of kilograms to add to soups and sauces.  I picked peas to eat fresh, but there were always more than we needed so these were frozen and I added to their bags on every occasion that I picked.

I don’t actually like broad beans at all, but my husband loves them; he likes to eat them raw with Pecorino cheese (a favourite in this sheep’s milk cheese area) and picked small and cooked with the pods.  The only way I’ll eat them is as a topping for bruschetta.

In the foreground to the right , Chard and to the left Syrian thyme, behind in the next bed, butternut squash, and beyond them sage

In the foreground to the right , Chard and to the left Syrian thyme, behind in the next bed, butternut squash, and beyond them sage

The salad crops are continuing partly because of the cooler weather.  Some lettuces have bolted, rather than waste them I stir fried the leaves very quickly with garlic, chilli and ginger and served it as a side dish, some I steamed quickly and pureed, a lot of vegetables are surprisingly good pureed in this way; there’s a reason it is done on MasterChef!

Lettuces and Chinese lettuce, this bed has been weeded too

Lettuces and Chinese lettuce, this bed has been weeded too

 

In the foreground small pumpkin plus 4 courgette plants

In the foreground small pumpkin plus 4 courgette plants before weeding and mulching

Courgette and small squash bed weeded and mulched, much better

Courgette and small squash bed weeded and mulched, much better

Courgettes started giving at least one courgette per plant each day for the last week, I pick them very small so I can use them all; any that escape my attention and become a little larger, I slice very thinly with a vegetable peeler and use raw as a salad.

Look how much they’ve grown in just a few days!

The squash also have small fruits, I often use these as roasted vegetables as soon as they're about half ripe

The squash also have small fruits, I often use these as roasted vegetables as soon as they’re about half ripe

The aubergines planted a couple of days later when it wasn't so hot are fine, this is the bed where the peas and broad beans were up until the beginning of the week

The aubergines planted a couple of days later when it wasn’t so hot are fine, this is the bed where the peas and broad beans were up until the beginning of the week

Some of the aubergines had to wait in the greenhouse before being planted as the peas and broad beans needed to be removed first.  Leaving them in the shaded greenhouse was a mistake; the day I planted them out was very hot, I should have waited until much later in the day as some of their leaves have ‘sun burn’ – I don’t know what else you’d call it!  I’m sure they’ll recover.

Poor sunburned foliage of aubergines

Poor sunburned foliage of aubergines

The warm very weather suits the peppers, several have small peppers already but it will be a while before they are large enough or red or yellow enough to harvest.

20160610_6616

Tomatoes, lots of tomatoes!

Tomatoes, lots of tomatoes!

Just behind the corn in the above photograph there is  a pot with beetroot, I picked the first ones the other day and they were delicious, I must sow some more and actually try to have some growing during the winter too, in the greenhouse.

Tomatoes are forming and the fruit swelling

Tomatoes are forming and the fruit swelling

Sweet corn

Sweet corn

The greenhouse is almost empty now, just the Lemon grass and Passion fruit planted into the border and some tomatoes sown long after the others that are supposed to be the type that will stay on the vine and be edible into the New Year; I haven’t ever tried these before, so we will see.

I’m also regularly picking strawberries, eaten before I could take any photographs and Mulberries, there are masses this year.  Has anyone ever made jam with them, I’d love your recipe!

What are you picking to eat from your garden this week?

Have a great weekend and I hope it stays fine for you.

 

 

 

 

32 thoughts on “The Vegetable Garden in June

  1. What a wonderful array of vegetables and herbs. Surprising you’re so adamantly against broad beans. I don’t much enjoy them either. Now those tomatoes, that’s another story. They will be delightful.

    • Apparently there are people who are actually allergic; I saw a sign outside a shop that warmed that there were broad beans in their pods inside the shop so that suffers would be aware and not enter! I don’t think I’m actually allergic but I really don’t like them at all.

  2. Your vegetable garden is as healthy and robust as your cutting garden, Christina! I was surprised by the number of courgette plants you’re growing. Here (where we call them zucchini) one plant is considered more than enough to feed an extended family – lots of zucchini bread gets frozen and passed along at Christmas time!

    • We call them zucchini in Italy too, you’re quite right that 4 is too many, but in past years I’ve found that one plant is usually lost from wind, slug or pest damage, and that for good cross fertilisation it is better to have 3 plants; I may even remove one plant to make space for something else. I give friends excess produce and I pick the zucchini very small, about the size of my middle finger so we can eat several for a meal. The small squash will certainly only be left for a short while;

  3. I am not keen on broad beans either, but remember my Dad growing them and loving them. I have never eaten a mulberry. What do they taste like? I have got a few radishes and some salad plants in a new raised planter this year. The planter is relatively small, but so useful, since slugs and snails cannot get into it! I will have to post about it some time.

    • Do show us your planter Cathy. Mulberries, what do they taste of? Difficult to describe, slightly sweet but not a distinct taste like raspberries or strawberries, they make a good sorbet.

  4. That’s impressive. And I am inspired by you to mulch my courgettes and squash plants today. Broad beans and summer calabrese are ready to pick and I’ll lift my garlic but no idea what size to expect!

  5. Makes me hungry reading all about your veg. I am envious of your tomatoes. Is your aubergine under attack from something rather than the sun? looks like something is boring into the leaves?

  6. Your vegetable garden looks most productive Christina. If only I could push my allotment plot in the direction of the warmth you are blessed with. I picked the first strawberries today. Not enough for a bowlful but a handful at lunch went down well.

  7. Thank you thank you thank you for posting a photo with a few weeds in it. Your beds always look so well tended and weed free, I was starting to develop a complex!
    Glad to here the produce is rolling in. We are just into lettuce, but the onions are beginning to bulb up already, and if I could only get the tomatoes in the ground I would be much more relaxed.

  8. What a productive veg garden you have. Your courgettes and sweet corn make my little plants look pathetic. And you are eating peas and broad beans already. Mine won’ t be ready for ages. They will probably be perfect when we are on holiday. That’ s what usually happens. Thanks for the tip about lettuces, I never know what to do with them all.

    • Usually the peas and broad beans are finished even earlier than this! My problem is trying to grow lettuces in summer when I really want them. It is something I’m going to concentrate my mind on this summer.

  9. Very impressive, productive and orderly. We’re picking broad beans which I love ;), lettuce, tomatoes, raspberries, strawberries, cabbage, spring onions…some things sulk a bit because of the mixed weather we have but I hope they’ll pick up.

  10. I admire your vegetable garden! We cut back on summer vegetables this year, but we have peppers and tomatoes. We harvested our first sweet peppers today and had stuffed peppers for supper. The tomatoes are still green but hopefully we can begin harvesting those before long. Swiss chard planted last year came through the winter and is still producing: one of my all time favorite vegetables!

  11. We are way behind you but we have strawberries now. Our broad beans had a bumper crop but our peas rotted in the ground, which happened to a lot of our friends. I have bolted lettuce and I am looking forward to trying out your recipe. Amelia

    • I always sow my peas in modules and then plant out, more labour intensive but the peas don’t rot in cold wet soil, I do the same with broad beans too. You plant you BB in the autumn don’t you? I’ve never had any success doing that.

      • It works very well in the autumn over here. I did try an extra spring sowing one mild spring but they were all attacked by black fly which the locals had warned me would happen.

        • That’s interesting.mine don’t get black fly usually, none this year. I sow in February and plant out almost as soon as they’ve germinated.

  12. Christina wonder garden and lots of vegetables is growing. I also do not like beans. But I love strawberries. Thank you very much for showing all beds culture: it was like a walk in the garden. And what garden so orderly and well planned. Greetings from Margarita.

  13. Christina disculpa pero la traducción ha sido horrible. Su huerto es magnífico. La variedad de verduras que tiene plantadas es increíble. Y todas las verduras muy bien organizadas en sus respectivas camas. Perfecto y muy bien planificado. Muchas gracias por el paseo por su maravilloso huerto. Me encantan las fresas. Saludos de Margarita.

  14. I must have seen your veg beds before but don’t remember them. It must take careful planning and experience too to know when best to put things in, in terms of the heat, etc.

  15. Richard is the veggie man here and he concentrates on tomatoes and cucumbers. Lucky for us, the raspberries and romaine lettuce at Joy Creek are doing so well that I bring some home every day that I work (generous bosses can’t be beat). Looks like good eating ahead for you, even through the winter as you dip into what you are now setting by.

    • One plant has already stopped producing, it always happens. I pick the courgettes very small – finger sized do it is easy to eat 3 or 4 per person at a time.

Leave a Reply

