In a vase on Monday – Too hot to think

Monday is when Cathy at Rambling in the Garden asks us to fill a vase with flowers from our own gardens.  Today I have a similar vase to a couple of weeks ago, but as it is my favourite Blue and White combination perhaps you’ll forgive me.  The second vase is a bit of a strange mix but looks a little like a meadow in a vase, which is rather fun.

In a vase on Monday – Blue and White 2

I wish the Amaranthus would have longer stems; it would be good if the long tassels could fall from the top of the arrangement.  The other trailing foliage is wild fennel from the garden, which wilted when I cut it but is slowly becoming stronger.

Blue Larkspur and White Campanular

There’s also some of the first Ami from the cut flower beds.

The cuttings Garden in a vase

This morning I pulled out all the old Antirrhinums; I had failed to remove all their flowering stems before I went away so they had all made seed and the leaves were covered in ugly rust.  I’ve already filled the space with a second planting of Nicotiana and Dill.  While I was doing this I realised that the Salvia horninum needed to be cut so that it would form stronger plants with hopefully longer stems.  this was from a mixed pack so included deep blue, pink and white, the whorls of green where the flowers form is also quite decorative.

Larkspur, Salvia, Campanular and Rudbeckia

Blue and yellow – like the sky with a bright yellow sun

The Rudbeckia is a plant from last year, I’m not sure which variety it is as I grew a few different ones last year, this is the only one to return this year but the leaves are all rather brown, I’m not sure I will be growing any more.

My title reflects my state of mind rather than the colour scheme, if you wondered what it was supposed to mean!

Have a good week and do check out Cathy‘s pretty pink vase and other vases from around the world.

 

43 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – Too hot to think

  1. Your first vase looks very elegant with the fennel and especially the amaranthus draping down. The drapers make the tall flowers seem even taller. Lovely color combos. Happy IAVOM.

  2. Sorry it is so hot for you, especially as it is only early June – hope it cools down a little soon. The blues are wonderful in the first vase but like the droopy amaranthus and dill too. My amaranthus tends to get little taller as the season goes on but is still way smaller than yours yet. Your rustic vase is pretty too – I have a soft spot for the clary sage as this is something I grew as a teenager. I am never sure which rudbeckia are perennial and which are annual and have had some free seeds this year which coild be either – we shall see, although the slugs like them, so perhaps we won’t!

  3. Lovely abundant larkspur! My seedlings are only just starting, so I’m looking forward to something like these. I love the drooping amaranthus and the fennel, though wilted, mimics the same – it works!

  4. Your brain might be singed, but your vases are as pretty as ever. It’s getting hot here too. Luckily, we are still getting rain and everything is lush and green. Fingers crossed we don’t have another drought like last year.

  5. Your cutting garden must be a wonder to behold, Christina! I really need to try growing larkspur next year – I can never get enough blue color. I take it that your spell of miserably hot weather is continuing? It will be upon us here all too soon I suspect but, for the moment, the marine influence is still keeping us cool here, as the inland valleys are beginning to toast.

    • Yes, it is still very hot and will be even hotter next week. These temperatures are usually with us in late June or July but not this early. Lucky you to be slightly cooler. The Larkspur is very striking this year Kris and I can take no credit whatsoever other than having grown the original seeds last year but this year’s plants from the self seeding that took place last year are much superior plants.

  6. Christina her white and blue vase is lovely with the draped Amaranth and the hanging Fennel. The blue Larkspur is very beautiful. The second vase says Summer, with Rudbeckia and the iniguanable Knight Spur. The heat this year and the lack of rain also succeeds here in Spain. Today it is not hot in Madrid but from tomorrow temperatures rise during the whole week until it exceeds 35ºC. Do not let it get too hot and have a really good week. Greetings from Margarita.

  7. I’m watching the rain pour down and wearing a blanket round my shoulders so your vases have given me warm thoughts of summer meadows. I’m sorry the rudbekias don’t do well for you. I find them a staple of late summer.

    • It is probably just a bit too hot for the rudbekias but with enough water maybe this one remaining plant from last year might grow well it has already put on a lot of heathly new growth.

  8. Troppo bello, If my college Italian is holding up, very beautiful? I agree and thank you for the Larkspur, one of my favorites! I agree a meadow in a vase is fun and troppo bello!

  9. I detect some similarities between your first vase and mine Christina! Isn’t it fascinating that the self-sown larkspur is stronger? If only it would self-sow here! As Kris says – your cutting garden must be wonderful! While you dread the approach of a possible drought, just remember the months that many of us have enjoyed your vases with flowers that are so much earlier than anything we experience. We have some rain this morning – perhaps you have been lucky too? Nice to see the salvia hormium. I love it in vases, but I remember growing it on a council nursery in London for the ladies who used to do the flowers – they always despised it when they were cutting what they wanted and told us we were wasting our time growing it as a cut flower. I love it – it adds a small delicate touch, not a big flourish!

    • To be honest the only things in the cut flower beds that are making a real statement are the Larkspur, but I’m not complaining everything is growing well and soon there will be much more choice. Dahlias and Cosmos already have some blooms. I always feel slightly guilty when I complain about the heat but I’ve never liked it. The joy of living here in Italy is really the blue skies in winter (even when it is cold) and the long pleasant autumn; summer I would prefer to leave. this is the first time I’ve grown this Salvia and so far I like it a lot.

  10. The salvia is nice, such a good form. Your larkspur are a delight. My rose petals are on the lawn, last nights wind tore them away! I’m new to rudbeckias, but they are a good late summer flower here- tough bright suns.

    • I think the Rudbekia like more wet or at least humidity than they receive here Linda but I imagine they would do very well for you. Which ones do you grow? There are some nice reddish ones that I have sown but not planted out yet, you’ve reminded me!!!

  11. Oh yes, definitely meadow-like. 🙂 And I love the draping Amaranthus in your first vase. Your cutting garden must be what keeps you going through the summer heat, with all these pretty flowers to cut and bring into the house.

  12. I would love a glimpse of your cutting garden as it is clearly full of lovelies. I adore larkspur and amaranthus is a good idea for vases.
    Rudbeckia is a bit miffy, I have tried some gorgeous hybrids over the years but they always disappear.

  13. I almost wish it was too hot to think Christina. It’s been quite the opposite here for the last few days being cool, wet and and extremely windy for the time of year. Both are most fine vases. Having seen your amaranthus I’m regretting not sowing any this year. The rudbeckia flowers look like sunshine – what a shame about the foliage.

Leave a Reply

