Blooming on 31st December 2013

Having read Pauline’s post at Lead me up the Garden Path about using some free software to make collages I thought I would quickly try.  I have to say the site is brilliant and very, very easy to use.  I haven’t made use of many of the options as I had very little time and some images are repeated plus I only used the 4 image options and there are many, many more.

So thank you Pauline, I’ve often wondered how others produced such lovely collages but never thought to ask.

So here is what was flowering on 31st December.

From top left: Rosa Westerland, Rosa Molineux, Rosa WesterlandHemerocallis Stella d'Oro,

From top left: Rosa Westerland, Rosa Molineux, Rosa WesterlandHemerocallis Stella d’Oro

Bearded Iris, Teucrium, Achillea millefolium 'Cassis', Anemone Sylphide

Bearded Iris, Teucrium, Achillea millefolium ‘Cassis’, Anemone Sylphide

Abutilon Salvia and Dwarf ornamental pomegranate

Abutilon Salvia and Dwarf ornamental pomegranate

Erigeron karvinskianus, Aster ‘Monch’ , another Aster and Osteospermum

Erigeron karvinskianus, Aster ‘Monch’ , another Aster and Osteospermum

Arabis, Rosa Rimosa, Mahonia x media 'Charity’, Hemerocallis Stella d'Oro,

Arabis, Rosa Rimosa, Mahonia x media ‘Charity’, Hemerocallis Stella d’Oro,

Rosa 'Gertrude Jekyll’, Rosa Tradescant, Rosa Stanwell Perpetual

Rosa ‘Gertrude Jekyll’, Rosa Tradescant, Rosa Stanwell Perpetual

Rosa Old Blush, Rosa mutabilis, Solanum jasminoides ‘Alba’, Rosa Sophie's perpetual

Rosa Old Blush, Rosa mutabilis, Solanum jasminoides ‘Alba’, Rosa Sophie’s perpetual

Rosa ‘Clair Martin’, Rosa Old Blush, Viburnum tinus

Rosa ‘Clair Martin’, Rosa Old Blush, Viburnum tinus

Salvia, Rosemary, Salvia

Salvia, Rosemary, Abultilon, RosaOld Blush

Rosa Rimosa, Crab Apple and Nandina domestica, Verbena ground cover,

Rosa Rimosa, Crab Apple and Nandina domestica, Verbena ground cover,

Eleagnus, Buddleia 'Silver Anniversary', Breaded Iris Teucrium,

Eleagnus, Buddleia ‘Silver Anniversary’, Breaded Iris Teucrium,

Inventory of plant flowering on 31st December 2013

With the long mild autumn with sufficient rain many plants were flowering on 31st of December, almost every variety of rose that I grow had some or many flowers; Rosa Molineux certainly seemed to have as many flowers as at the end of May.  I picked 8 perfect flowers for a table decoration for the New Year’s Eve dinner I hosted and I could have picked many more.

Here’s the list of what was flowering, I hope most are in the collages!  Today Rosa Sally Holmes is also flowering but it wasn’t on the 31st, it was just buds then.

Achillea millefolium ‘Cassis’

Anemone Sylphide

Arabis

Abutilon

Aster ‘Monch’ plus another un-named variety

Hemerocallis Stella d’Oro

Iris Chelsea Blue, I think it is this but I’m not 100% sure it could be an unknown variety I was given by friends.

Buddleia ‘Silver Anniversary’

Dwarf ornamental pomegranate

Eleagnus

Erigeron karvinskianus

Mahonia x media ‘Charity’

Osteospermum

Rosa ‘Clair Martin’

Rosa ‘Gertrude Jekyll’

Rosa Molineux

Rosa mutabilis

Rosa Old Blush

Rosa Rimosa

Rosa Sophie’s perpetual

Rosa Stanwell Perpetual

Rosa Tradescant

Rosa Westerland

Rosa William Shakespeare

Rosemary prostrate and upright

Salvia Indigo Spires

Salvia 3 other varieties all unknown names

Solanum jasminoides ‘Alba’

Teucrium

Verbena ground cover variety

Viburnum tinus

I make that a grand total of 34! But without the roses it would be many less.

27 thoughts on “Blooming on 31st December 2013

  1. You have so many lovely things in bloom Christina. It is amazing having roses looking so good in January. I love your collages. I am very impressed with you and Pauline making these lovely collages.I am a technophobe but I am just going to have to give it a go.

    • I don’t usually have so many roses in January, I actually hope they stop soon so that I can prune them. Do try the collage site it was amazingly easy (and I’m not that good with these things usually.

  2. Amazing! you have so many different flowers to show us, most of which stopped flowering ages ago here. So glad you have tried the collage website, but I have had a comment from Cathy at Rambling in the Garden saying that the site introduced spyware into her computer and it took a long time to get rid of it. I have checked and my security AVG, protects me from spyware so everything is fine here, I hope it is with you.

  3. I’m amazed at all those flowers, especially as you had some light frosts before Christmas! It seems that the shorter days haven’t slowed things down much – the warmth must be the main thing that keeps them going. Love the collages too.

    • The days aren’t so short here as further north and the sun is higher in the sky providing a lot more light. We have cold weather forecast for this week but if it isn’t grey, I won’t mind.

  4. Beautiful collages. You have so much in bloom. Even with the warm temperatures in southern California, I have less in bloom at the moment. All my roses have been pruned back to sticks.

    • What kinds of roses do you have, many don’t need to be pruned too heavily. Species and modern English roses only need dead wood to be removed and some of the stems shortening.

  5. I’m overwhelmed by the number of flowers…I thought I was doing quite well during my last count. But isn’t it odd to have Iris barbata flowering now? Does your pomegranate not loose its leaves? I have the same one and it is deciduous here. All I can say is: Enjoy!

    • Other people have told me that in recent years their Iris barbata flower in winter, this is a first for me, it is slow, just one flower at a time so the whole stem might take a month to open all its flowers! My pomegranate was diciduous last year, we’ve had light frosts but at present there is no sign its going to lose its leaves. The large version that fruits lost its leaves in December.

  6. An impressive listing for the last day of the year! We still have errant annuals and odd perennials blooming alongside spring primroses, confused by our rather mild winter so far!

      • Ah, yes: the latter mostly. Calendula officinalis, Antirrhinum majus. And some of our true perennials that usually die down by now: fuchsias, penstemon, hardy geraniums, various scabious… The mild weather is encouraging long if sporadic flushes on plants that would usually be killed off or go dormant here!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.