Wordless Wednesday – Views I’m enjoying this week May 20

Large Isalnad -the Irises are coming to an end now but have been wonderful this year

Large Isalnad -the Irises are coming to an end now but have been wonderful this year, the small island is in the background

Small Island

Large Island

Large Island looking towards the Drive

Large Island looking towards the Drive

I must try some cuttings of this Salvia, I love its purple spikes against the orange of the poppies

I must try some cuttings of this Salvia, I love its purple spikes against the orange of the poppies (Upper Slope Path)

Edge of Large Island looking towards the house

Edge of Large Island looking towards the terrace

Rosa 'Queen of Sweden' is amazing this year and a great rose to cut for a vase

Rosa ‘Queen of Sweden’ is amazing this year and a great rose to cut for a vase

Left Hand border, roses in full bloom this week

Left Hand border, roses in full bloom this week

My favourite rose of all, R. Vielchenblau, this swag should be tied in but when I do the branch dies so I'm just enjoying it while it flowers

My favourite rose of all, R. Vielchenblau, this swag should be tied in but when I do the branch dies so I’m just enjoying it while it flowers

The Spring Walk is now full of Sisyrinchium striatum

The Spring Walk is now full of Sisyrinchium striatum

30 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday – Views I’m enjoying this week May 20

  1. I like the white iris in your first picture…. I have come to value white in the garden as it really reflects light and shows up well. Would love to see a close-up of some of your roses, but then perhaps they will make an appearance in a vase again soon… 😉

    • I love white, the white rose in the back border really lights that area up and they are luminous in the evening. I’ll write a more detailed post about the Irises and the roses soon; time has been rushing by and I haven’t had time to post as much as I would like.

  2. All looking lovely Christina and I can see just why R. Vielchenblau is your favourite, what a beautiful colour and that must be lovely to sit underneath.

  3. Stunning! You’ve created such a beautiful garden. The purple of the smoke bush really goes so well against the greys of the foliage plants and the fading irises in the foreground. It’s a really lovely scene. As for R. ‘Queen of Sweden’ and Vielchenblau – they’re spectacular!

  4. The roses are beautiful in their first flush. They have really made their presence noticed in the garden. I must admit to missing my Vielchenblau which was still in bud when we left for our holidays. It is trained on to a tree on the border of the garden so at least the neighbours will enjoy it. Amelia

  5. Wow. Beautiful! I’m going to second the view towards the terrace as being a favorite, it’s so nice seeing the garden, but seeing the spot where you can enjoy it from is even better. It looks like the perfect spot for relaxing!
    Our iris are just starting. Horrible how quickly our spring went when compared to yours…

    • Ours was pretty fast this year too, a couple of weeks of very hot weather and the tulips all finished, the Iris flowered (and they’re nearly over) and the roses flowered and then almost collapsed in the heat! You are quite right the terrace with its shade of Wisteria is a lovely spot to sit and relax with a nice glass of wine or mint tea and soak in the perfumes that are wafting around the garden right now.

  6. Pingback: Wednesday Walk-Along around Bodiam Castle | Wild Daffodil

  7. Your Queen of Sweden is spectacular, and Veilchenblau is irresistable – apparently it must do well in your climate there? Like others, I enjoyed the view up toward the terrace; it’s lovely and helps me understand the scale of the beds 🙂

    • Roses like the heat to harden their wood, but all flowered too quickly in the high temperatures in mid-May; they don’t really do well in my soil, they would prefer clay which would hold more water for them.

  8. Congratulations, your garden looks really beautiful and you have a good way of using lots of different plants but making sense of them set against each other and in big enough drifts.

  9. You do have some magnificent views to enjoy. I love that big clump of irises, especially the blue and yellow ones. And ‘Queen of Sweden’ is superlative. Veilchenblau is wonderful but the pergola is even better!

  10. How lovely! May is such a wonderful time of year. I like the contrast between the poppies and the salvia – I’m thinking about combining more purple and orange here too. Veilchenblau is spectacular and your picture gives me hopes for the tiny cutting I planted this Spring.

  11. Queen of Sweden is a real beauty – and lovely to see your Vielchenblau. I noticed a little crop of buds on my small one today so I am hopeful of at least a few flowers this year.

Leave a Reply

